Saturday, 2 March 2013

Juvenile Hurling - South Leinster B Round 2

Gorey CS..........................6-8                Wexford CBS....................5-6

After this eleven goal thriller, the juvenile hurlers of Wexford CBS had to return home empty handed. The boys put in a much improved performance following the disappointing defeat to Enniscorthy CBS earlier in the week.
Jordan Hayes put CBS ahead with a neat point in the 3rd minute but the Gorey lads took over then and tore into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead after 15 minutes as the CBS hurlers stood off their opponents and were making far too many errors.
Eventually CBS settled and Jordan Hayes put Cathal Kirwan in for the first goal after 19 minutes and shortly after this Jack O’Leary lashed the ball to the net which got the Boker boys back into the game.
Gorey kept their noses in front with their second goal but Cathal Kirwan and Philip Rawson hit back with points and CBS suffered a setback when Gorey CS struck for their third goal just on the stroke of half-time (3-6 to 2-3).
Terry Whitty opened the scoring with a nice point but Gorey countered with two points of their own followed by their fourth and fifth goals the pressure began to tell.
The CBS lads refused to throw in the towel and came back with goals of their own. Cormac Byrne’s delivery was finished to the net by Chris Cowman and Jack O’Leary grabbed his second goal to cut the gap.
Jordan Hayes nipped in for his second point before Kristian Bunici pulled the ball to the net following a scramble. Gorey responded with a goal and the final score fell to Ben McMahon who went on a mazy solo run and flicked the ball over the bar.
Best on the day were Kevin Corrigan, Nicky Kelly, Shane Pierce, Cormac Byrne and Jack O’Leary. Next up is FCJ Bunclody in round 3.

Wexford CBS:
Adam Howlin (Shelmaliers); Aaron Smythe (Volunteers), Kevin Corrigan (Blackwater), Danny Walsh (Faythe Harriers); Nicky Kelly (Faythe Harriers), Shane Pierce (Shelmaliers), Cody Murphy (Blackwater); Jack O’Leary (Volunteers, 2-0), Cathal Kirwan (Faythe Harriers, 1-1); Philip Rawson (St. Anne’s, 0-1), Cormac Byrne (Faythe Harriers, Capt.), Cian Rossiter (Volunteers); Terry Whitty (Faythe Harriers, 0-1), Jordan Hayes (St. Martin’s, 0-2), Lee Busher (Volunteers).
Subs: Chris Cowman (Shelmaliers, 1-0) for Cian Rossiter, Kristian Bunici (Faythe Harriers, 1-0) for Lee Busher, Ben McMahon (Volunteers, 0-1), also Ryan McLoughlin (St. Mary’s Rosslare), Finian Coughlan, Ryan Dempsey (Faythe Harriers).

No comments:

Post a Comment