Wednesday, 17 April 2013

Senior Rugby - Vinny Murray Plate Champions

Wexford C.B.S....19   Newpark Comp. ...5

On a wild and wet afternoon in Wicklow RFC, The Bokerboys landed their second Leinster title of the season. It was  the last game in school colours for Michael Maguire, James Roche and Ciaran Kavanagh and they certainly played their part in adding this triumph to the medals already collected in Donnybrook back in January.
Newpark won the toss and chose to play against a stiff wind with the rain in their faces. They owned the ball for the opening few minutes but learnt that Wexford defence was highly organised and took no prisoners. They failed to make any inroads into our territory and when they conceded a penalty, Wexford spurned the posts and kicked for the line-out option in the corner. Collie Joyce-Ahearne gathered and set the maul, heading towards the line, flanker Gavin Byrne broke on the blind side to get the touchdown. Sean Stafford, who has been superb all season, kicked a wonderful conversion from the touchline. 7-0
Given the horrendous conditions the standard of rugby was excellent from both sides. Again following a successful line out, Wexford employed the 'pick n go', many players carried the ball, each one gaining hard earned meters, excellent technique and ball retention eventually paid off when James Roche crashed through the ever dwindling defence for his first try in school colours. Once again Sean Stafford added the extra points from the conversion, with another sublime strike. 14-0
In control but mindful of the ticking clock, Wexford would need more on the scoreboard as the turnabout was not far away, and the elements were simply awful. Following exceptional ball handling across the back line, Gavin Byrne broke down the right wing, fighting off a tackle he managed to keep the ball in play, some quick offloads and Conor Fenlon fed Collie Joyce-Ahearne, who was unstoppable from close range
19-0, a good 35 minutes work.
Half time was for rest and instilling the belief that our defence was unbreakable. We turned into the wind and rain, faced our opposite numbers and were ready for what ever they would throw at us. We were in control at scrum time, disrupted their line outs and had a fair share of possession. At one stage we carried over ten phases, superbly controlling the ball and working together. This took its toll on Newpark, and time and time again they were sent backwards. Tackling was committed and wholesome and with the clock ticking away handsomely, there was a certain element of pleasure being had from each and every hit.
With only minutes left , Newpark finally did cross the whitewash, but it was going to be a purple and gold day, with a nice touch of silver to go with it.
Great scenes of joy greeted the final whistle as the Bokerboys shared their feelings with our travelling supporters.
All this squad of players have been immense this year and thoroughly deserve to reflect now and enjoy what they have achieved. Thank you for executing our plans and fulfilling our dreams. Bring on next season.
Team: James Roche, Steve Roche, James Byrne, Darragh Comiskey, Michael Maguire, Gavin Byrne, David Kavanagh, Collie Joyce-Ahearne(Capt.), Conor Fenlon, Eoin Roche, Mickey Roche, Sean Stafford, Josh Healy, Ruairi Devereux, Liam Barry.
Subs: Ciaran Kavanagh, Joe Coleman, John Joe Browne, Tomas Barry, Richie Cleary, Dean Kehoe, Matthew Devereux, Evan Dunbar. Kenny Rawson our lucky charm.

No comments:

Post a Comment