Monday, 25 April 2016

Top Oil South Leinster Juvenile Hurling ‘C’ Final

Wexford CBS……………………………………..…2-11
Colaiste Bhride (Carnew)…………………………….0-3

A strong defensive showing from Wexford CBS sealed the South Leinster Juvenile Hurling ‘C’ title after a stubborn battle from the students of Colaiste Bhride (Carnew) at Ferns Centre of Excellence last Friday.
However, CBS had enough guile and craft to end up comfortable winners after an entertaining and full blooded sixty minutes. The opening quarter ended with the score at 0-2 each and it was only after this period that CBS took off and built up a sizeable lead.
Carnew captain Conor Hughes opened the scoring with a converted free but Adam Feery and Richard Lawlor edged CBS back in front before a fine point from Carnew midfielder Bradley Hickey levelled matters.
CBS, coached by Willie Carley, JJ Doyle and parents Nicky Lawlor, Tommy Hynes and Dermot Butler, were launching attack after attack but were not being direct enough and the Carnew defence repelled them. In the second quarter they ran at the defence and got the scores they needed.
Josh Shiel put the Wexford town school into the lead and the crucial score arrived in the 25th minute when Emmett Nolan’s shot hit the net. The pressure began to tell and Glen Murphy-Butler finished the half with three points (two from frees and a ’65) to send his team in at half-time with a 1-6 to 0-2.
Murphy-Butler got the opening score of the second half with a converted ’65 and Reece Murphy shoved the Bokerboys into a 1-8 to 0-2 lead before Conor Hughes got his side’s final point from a free.
CBS extended their lead through Adam Feery but they squandered many chances to put the game away. At the other end Carne were doing their level best to get the scores to put them back in the game but the CBS defence, led by man of the match Josh Murphy, was in no mood to let them back in.
The final nail in the coffin for Carnew was Reece Murphy’s 49th minute goal while Jason Gordon and Josh Shiel finished out the game with points.
Afterwards CBS captain Glen Murphy-Butler received the cup from Pat Henderson of Leinster Council. As a result of this victory, Wexford CBS will compete at ‘B’ level in Juvenile (u14½) and Junior (u16½) in 2016/17.
Wexford CBS: Darragh Kehoe (Faythe Harriers); Joe Barrett (St. Martin’s), Francis Dempsey (St. Martin’s), Josh Murphy (Faythe Harriers); Shane McGuinness (Faythe Harriers), Paul Leonard (Glynn-Barntown), Ben Hynes (Faythe Harriers); Josh Shiel (Faythe Harriers 0-2), Glen Murphy-Butler (Faythe Harriers, 0-4, 2f , 2’65 Capt.); Reece Murphy (Faythe Harriers, 1-1), Emmett Nolan (Faythe Harriers, 1-0), Eoin Kavanagh (Faythe Harriers); Richard Lawlor (Faythe Harriers 0-1), Dan Browne (Faythe Harriers), Adam Feery (St. Martin’s, 0-2).
Subs: Jason Gordon (Faythe Harriers, 0-1) for Browne, Cillian Larkin (Buffers Alley) for Nolan, Wen Gen Lin (St. Mary’s Rosslare) for Feery, Oisin Waters (St. Martin’s) for Murphy. Ruairi Fenlon (Glynn-Barntown), Sean Byrne (Faythe Harriers), Owen McNulty (Buffers Alley), Alex Looney (St. Mary’s Rosslare), Conor Byrne (Blackwater).
Colaiste Bhride (Carnew): Patrick Kavanagh (Craanford); Cillian McDonald (Tinahely), Martin Kavanagh (Craanford0, Mark Clancy (Aughrim); Tom Mordaunt (Ballyfad), Aidan Kavanagh (Craanford), James Doran (Askamore); Bradley Hickey (Tinahely 0-1), Joe Conroy (Craanford); James McGing (Carnew), Eoin Kavanagh (Carnew), Owen Young (Carnew); Jason Bolger (Ballyfad), Conor Hughes (Ballyfad, Capt. 0-2 frees), John Young (Carnew).
Subs: Dean Wadding (Craanford), Gavin Murray (Ballyfad), JJ Kinsella O’Neill (Ballyfad), Padraig Tobin (Craanford), Conor Wafer (Carnew), Cormac Redmond (Carnew), Jack Murray (Tinahely), Owen Doran (Askamore), Rickie Byrne (Ballinkillen), Diarmaid Lambert (Tinahely).
Ref: Dickie Murphy.

No comments:

Post a Comment