Friday, 3 March 2017

South Leinster South Leinster Juvenile Hurling ‘B’ Championship Piercestown

FCJ Bunclody…………..2-6
Wexford CBS………..…2-4
Victory would have secured qualification for the quarter-finals of the South Leinster Juvenile Hurling ‘B’ championship for both these teams and they played at one hundred miles an hour in or to secure the win and the ticket out of the group.
After 60 minutes it was the Bunclody students who squeezed through to meet Borris VC in the last eight.
The away team started the better of the two even though they were playing into the elements. They had two points on the board before CBS had mounted an attack but CBS took over for the rest of the half and the Bunclody boys didn’t trouble the scoreboard until the new half.
Ben Hynes got the Bokerboys underway with a pointed free and then Owen McNulty levelled the game with a sweet point after 15 minutes.
Jason Gordon escaped the clutches of the tight marking full-back to fire CBS in front and that was the score at half-time (0-3 to 0-2).
CBS needed a bright start to the second half but didn’t get it as Bunclody kicked a goal after sustained pressure and added some points to go 1-4 to 0-3 up.
However, CBS didn’t wilt and maintained their ferocious workrate which earned them a penalty after 38 minutes. Darragh Carley stepped up and fired a low shot to the net which brought the home side right back into the game. Jason Gordon’s free made it 1-4 each after 45 minutes and it was anyone’s game.
Jake Doyle, David Kelly and Ben Hynes were dominating in the CBS defence but Bunclody got a break when David Kelly was pushed and the full-forward beat Josh Carley after a scramble.
However CBS refused to die and Conor Keane’s pulled goal brought it back to two points but time ran out and CBS were out.
It was a very brave performance and every player should be very proud of their efforts, especially as seven first years started. David Kelly received the man-of-the-match award.

Wexford CBS: Josh Carley; Jake Doyle, David Kelly (Capt.), Rian Doyle; Jack Connolly, Ben Hynes (0-1 free), Callum Corcoran; Tommy Gallagher, Darragh Carley (1-0 pen.); Alex Looney, Owen McNulty (0-1), Conor Byrne; Michael Mackey, Jason Gordon (0-2, 1 free), Zach Breslin.
Subs: Sean Cullen for Looney, Ollie Gould for Mackey, Chris Ryan for Byrne, Conor Keane (1-0) for Corcoran inj.,

No comments:

Post a Comment