Thursday, 22 February 2018

South Leinster Juvenile Hurling ‘B’ C’ship

FCJ Bunclody………………………2-13
Wexford CBS……………………….2-9
This was a spirited and entertaining game of hurling but not without two dollops of controversy. CBS were down four at HT (1-5 to 0-4) but pulled the game back level. Darragh Carley’s free seemed to have been parried by the keeper into the net. However, the referee judged that it was a ’65.
Minutes later Zach Breslin turned and ran at goal before kicking to the net – or what many thought was the net – before complaints from the home team resulted in a throw-in as the was judged not to have crossed the line.
Such margins were devastating for CBS as the two goals they conceded were very soft.
Eoin Hartigan started the scoring with a fine point after hard work by Tommy Gallagher but FCJ over for the rest of the opening quarter and led by 1-4 to 0-1.
Three converted Darragh Carey frees brought CBS back into it at 1-4 to 0-4 before Bunclody finished off the half with a pointed free of their own.
CBS got the perfect start to the new half when Zach Breslin gathered and turned his man before kicking to the net. It was tit-for-tat for the next 25 minutes as both sides fought bravely to secure the win.
Zach Breslin was fouled for a penalty and Darragh Carley’s shot made it to the net to leave the score at 2-7 to 1-8 in favour of Wexford CBS.
However, disaster struck for CBS when a long free went all the way to the net to shove FCJ back in front. Darragh Carley responded with a fine point from play but Bunclody replied and it was the home side who struck for three late points to earn the two league points on offer.
Best for CBS were Fionn O’Callaghan, Darragh Carley, Andrew Moran, Cian Doyle, Tadhg Brohan, Eoin Hartigan and Zach Breslin. 
Wexford CBS: William Linn; Tadhg Hayes, Fionn O’Callaghan, Adam Murphy; Andrew Moran, Darragh Carley (1-6, 0-5 f, 1-0 pen), Rian Sammon; Tommy Gallagher, Cian Doyle; Tadhg Brohan (0-1), Eoin Hartigan (0-2, 1f), Chris Ryan; Quinlin Kelly, Zach Breslin (1-0), Liam Donoghue.
Subs: Finn Jager for Ryan, Callum McDonald for Kelly, Jack Kennedy for Jager, Conor Mackey for McDonald, Ryan for Donoghue.
Ref: Dickie Murphy

No comments:

Post a Comment