Thursday, 27 September 2012

South Leinster Junior Hurling B championship – Wed 26/9/12

Wexford CBS...............3-11        Gorey CS.....................3-19
Wexford CBS’s junior hurlers made the trip to Gorey Community School where they faced a very strong home side. CBS battled bravely but couldn’t handle the Gorey lads who registered a comfortable win.
Gorey enjoyed the gale force wind in the first half and raced into a 0-8 to 0-0 lead after the first quarter. Eventually CBS settled and began to get a foothold in the game. Liam Hore scored a fine point before Dylan Hynes converted a free and then Conor Coleman somehow squeezed the ball over the bar from an incredibly tight angle.
Gorey scored their first goal in the 21st minute which made it 1-10 to 0-3 but then Nicky Lawlor’s long range effort deceived the keeper and ended up in the net. However just before the half-time whistle CBS suffered a setback when Gorey sneaked in for another goal.
With the wind at their backs, CBS set about whittling down the lead but the Gorey defence proved mean and hard to break down. Dylan Hynes opened the scoring and then he started a fine move involving Nicky Lawlor which resulted in Luke Byrne pointing.
Conor Coleman and Dylan Hynes added further points before David Tormey pounced for a goal. At 2-15 to 2-7 after 45 minutes, CBS were making some progress but Gorey’s third goal made it very difficult.
Nicky Lawlor pointed a ’65 before the Gorey keeper batted out his long range shot and Stephen Cullen pounced to flash the ball to the net.
Ciaran Kirwan, Nicky Lawlor and Luke Byrne finished with points but Gorey were also adding points at the other end and ended up comfortable winners.
Best for CBS were James Somers, Cormac Byrne, Ciaran Kirwan, Nicky Lawlor and Luke Byrne.
Wexford CBS: Rob Donnelly; Cormac Byrne, James Somers, Kevin Harte; Daniel Lynch, Ciaran Kirwan (0-1, Capt.), Shane McGrath; Nicky Lawlor (1-2), Emmett Sinnott; Liam Hore (0-1), Dylan Hynes (0-3 frees), Luke Byrne (0-2); Conor Coleman (0-2), Stephen Kearney, David Tormey (1-0).
Subs: Padraig Rossiter for Liam Hore inj., Kristian Bunici for Stephen Kearney inj., Stephen Cullen (1-0) for Emmett Sinnott.

No comments:

Post a Comment