Monday, 25 September 2017

Top Oil Leinster Schools Junior Hurling ‘B’ Championship

Gorey CS………………….3-12
Wexford CBS…………….2-8

Gorey were full value for their victory in this opening round Junior Hurling ’B’ championship. They took all their opportunities in the first half whereas CBS squandered theirs and this made things very difficult.
The students from the north of the county led at the break by 3-9 to 0-3 but in truth it should have been much closer as numerous goal chances were missed while a lot of frees were driven wide. Richie Lawlor, Paul Leonard and Kyle Scallan were the CBS scorers.
The second half was better for CBS as they were much sharper in front of goal. Michael Laffan and Richie Lawlor raised the green flags while the points sailed over easier.
However, Gorey kept the scoreboard ticking over the sealed the two points for the win. Next up for CBS is a home tie versus Enniscorthy CBS.
Wexford CBS: Josh Carey; Josh Murphy, Darragh Carley, Mark Doyle; Ben Hynes, Emmett Nolan, Owen McNulty; Kyle Scallan (0-2, 1’65), Paul Leonard (0-2); Eoin Kavanagh (0-1), Richie Lawlor (1-2, 1-0 free), Reece Murphy; Jason Gordon (0-1), Michael Laffan (1-1), Francis Dempsey.
Subs: Sean Byrne for Doyle, Cillian Larkin for Dempsey, Dan Browne for R. Murphy, Jake Doyle for Kavanagh, David Kelly for J. Murphy.

No comments:

Post a Comment