Friday 28 September 2012

Best Wishes To Conor and Dale

Third Year students Dale White and Conor Cullen are heading to Montreal, Canada at the weekend to represent Ireland at the World Lau Gar Kung Fu and Kickboxing Championships. Enjoy the trip and best of of luck.

Transition Year Go A Ploughing

Thursday 27 September 2012

South Leinster Junior Hurling B championship – Wed 26/9/12

Wexford CBS...............3-11        Gorey CS.....................3-19
Wexford CBS’s junior hurlers made the trip to Gorey Community School where they faced a very strong home side. CBS battled bravely but couldn’t handle the Gorey lads who registered a comfortable win.
Gorey enjoyed the gale force wind in the first half and raced into a 0-8 to 0-0 lead after the first quarter. Eventually CBS settled and began to get a foothold in the game. Liam Hore scored a fine point before Dylan Hynes converted a free and then Conor Coleman somehow squeezed the ball over the bar from an incredibly tight angle.
Gorey scored their first goal in the 21st minute which made it 1-10 to 0-3 but then Nicky Lawlor’s long range effort deceived the keeper and ended up in the net. However just before the half-time whistle CBS suffered a setback when Gorey sneaked in for another goal.
With the wind at their backs, CBS set about whittling down the lead but the Gorey defence proved mean and hard to break down. Dylan Hynes opened the scoring and then he started a fine move involving Nicky Lawlor which resulted in Luke Byrne pointing.
Conor Coleman and Dylan Hynes added further points before David Tormey pounced for a goal. At 2-15 to 2-7 after 45 minutes, CBS were making some progress but Gorey’s third goal made it very difficult.
Nicky Lawlor pointed a ’65 before the Gorey keeper batted out his long range shot and Stephen Cullen pounced to flash the ball to the net.
Ciaran Kirwan, Nicky Lawlor and Luke Byrne finished with points but Gorey were also adding points at the other end and ended up comfortable winners.
Best for CBS were James Somers, Cormac Byrne, Ciaran Kirwan, Nicky Lawlor and Luke Byrne.
Wexford CBS: Rob Donnelly; Cormac Byrne, James Somers, Kevin Harte; Daniel Lynch, Ciaran Kirwan (0-1, Capt.), Shane McGrath; Nicky Lawlor (1-2), Emmett Sinnott; Liam Hore (0-1), Dylan Hynes (0-3 frees), Luke Byrne (0-2); Conor Coleman (0-2), Stephen Kearney, David Tormey (1-0).
Subs: Padraig Rossiter for Liam Hore inj., Kristian Bunici for Stephen Kearney inj., Stephen Cullen (1-0) for Emmett Sinnott.

Positive Affirmations and Merit Points

Work Ethic: Aaron Carley
Extra Curricular: Colm Joyce-Ahearne
Good Deeds: Patrick Murphy

Merit Points:
First Year: Boland 130, Heaney 130, Meehan 130, Yeats 115
Second Year: UCC 130, UCD 130, UCG 115, TCD 130
Third Year: Ash 100, Birch 130, Cedar 105, Oak 105, Pine 115

Monday 24 September 2012

School Mass

The Opening of School Year Mass will be held at 12 o'clock on Tuesday 25th Bride Street Church. All are welcome.

Sunday 23 September 2012

Congratulations Collie

Well done to Collie Joyce-Ahearne who lined out for Leinster Youths rugby side, in the second-row, on Saturday v Ulster in Donnybrook. They had a huge 50-3 victory and now face Connacht on Sat. next in Naas and then on to Thomond Park to face Munster.

First Year Football League

The annual Wexford CBS First Year Football Blitz took place throughout September and after a feast of football, it was Donegal who came out on top after a titanic struggle against Cork in the final.
These sides met in round two and it was Cork who emerged victorious by just one point but Donegal, managed by Willie Carley, turned the tables in an enthralling final before a large crowd on the school field.
In the ‘B’ final Wexford overcame a brave Mayo fight back to secure victory by three points.
Afterwards school principal Mr. Michael McMahon presented the cup to the winning Donegal captain Luke O’Neill.
Many thanks to the tournament organisers Mr. Davey and Mr. Smith and to all the referees throughout the tournament. Attention now turns towards the South Leinster Juvenile championship.
Round 1: Cork 6-6 Wexford 4-2; Donegal 2-4 Mayo 1-6.
Round 2: Wexford 1-8 Mayo 2-5; Cork 1-6 Donegal 2-2.
Round 3: Donegal 6-8 Wexford 3-3; Cork 1-7 Mayo 2-2.
Table: Cork 6 pts, Donegal 4 pts, Mayo 1 pt, Wexford 1 pt.
‘A’ Final: Donegal 0-9 Cork 0-8. ‘B’ Final: Wexford 6-5 Mayo 6-2.
Donegal: Ryan Busher, Ben Butler, TJ Cousins, Cathal Crowe, Ryan Dempsey, Peter Doyle, Luke Flaherty, Jordan Hayes, Cathal Kirwan, Angelo Miculescu, Ciarán Moore, Jason Moore, Ryan O Connor, Luke O Neill, Jack Pierce, Darragh Whelan.
Cork: Adam Butler, James Byrne, Ben Barnes, Finnian Coughlan, Evan Daly, Adam Dempsey, Jack Kavanagh, Ben McMahon, Leon Nolan Cullen, Jack O Leary, Eoghan Reck, Jamie Thomas, Lee Walsh, Tony Wilde.
Wexford: Ryan Lynch, Luke Dowdall, Shane Hall, Phil Rawson, David Tennant, Adam Howlin          , Cian O Connor, Patsy Whelan, Jason Warren, Cian Rossiter, Ryan McLoughlin.                                               
Mayo: Leon Brennan, Justin Butler, Callum Cleary, Ben Creane, Matthew Currid, Patrick Dobbs, Adam Flaherty, Andrew Gibbons, Aaron Kinsella, David McDonald, Adam McGuire, Sam McSherry, Leigh Moran, Christopher O Dowd, Sam O Neill, Aaron Smith, Aaron Walsh. 

Winning Donegal team with mentor Mr.Willie Carley.

Runners up with mentor Mr.Mick Dennihy

Winning captain Luke O'Neill with Mr.Michael McMahon

Thursday 20 September 2012

First Year Parents Meeting.

A one hour meeting for First Year parents will take place on Tuesday 25th Sept. in Room 11 at 7.30pm.

Positive Affirmations and Merit Points

Work Ethic: Michael Phillips
Good Deeds: Jamie Thomas, Adam Butler, Ken Corcoran, Larry Stout.

Merit Points
First Year: Boland 120, Heaney 120, Meehan 120, Yeats 120
Second Year: UCC 120, UCD 120, UCG 120, TCG 120.
Third  Year: Ash 105, Birch 120, Cedar 105, Oak 95, Pine 105.

Thursday 13 September 2012

Drop And Read

Today was the first day of our 'drop and read' programme to help promote a better literacy standard and reignite a love of reading among our pupils.

Mrs. Hayes' class immersed in their novels.

Positive Affirmations

The following pupils were commended to the Positive Affirmation Committee by their teachers.
Work Ethic: Jack Alright
Good Deeds: Mark Enright, Conor Maher, Thomas McGuinness, Jamie Boland, Adam Butler, Adam Walsh.

Sunday 9 September 2012

Transition Year

Transition year has kicked off with a bang, already they have spent a day on retreat in Carne and another day participating in outdoor pursuits activities in Sheilbaggan. The 66 pupils are getting to know each other and an exciting year full of new challenges lies ahead.

Here's A Novel Idea

This year we are asking all students to bring a suitable novel of their choice in to school, everyday. Your son can read, discuss, even swap his favourite books as we seek to remind ourselves of the joy of reading. Every week we will set aside reading time for the entire school community ( yes , even the teachers!) to read what they want for a change. Maybe you could suggest a novel to your sonthat you have read, (who knows he might return the compliment! ). Reading is an invaluable, enjoyable gift that we can all share together and it's never too late to start.

Tuesday 4 September 2012


Congratulations to the following C.B.S. students who represented their county recently.
U.14 Hurling: Liam Rockett, Daniel Lynch, Cormac Byrne, Liam Hore, Conor Coleman
U.15 Hurling: Ciaran Kirwan, Stephen Kearney, Jon Hamilton, Rob Donnelly, Joe Redmond
U.16 Hurling: Joe Coleman, Nicky Lawlor
U.15 and U.16 Football: Joe Redmond, Shaun Donaghue, Eoin McDonald.