Monday 25 September 2017

Top Oil Leinster Schools Junior Hurling ‘B’ Championship

Gorey CS………………….3-12
Wexford CBS…………….2-8

Gorey were full value for their victory in this opening round Junior Hurling ’B’ championship. They took all their opportunities in the first half whereas CBS squandered theirs and this made things very difficult.
The students from the north of the county led at the break by 3-9 to 0-3 but in truth it should have been much closer as numerous goal chances were missed while a lot of frees were driven wide. Richie Lawlor, Paul Leonard and Kyle Scallan were the CBS scorers.
The second half was better for CBS as they were much sharper in front of goal. Michael Laffan and Richie Lawlor raised the green flags while the points sailed over easier.
However, Gorey kept the scoreboard ticking over the sealed the two points for the win. Next up for CBS is a home tie versus Enniscorthy CBS.
Wexford CBS: Josh Carey; Josh Murphy, Darragh Carley, Mark Doyle; Ben Hynes, Emmett Nolan, Owen McNulty; Kyle Scallan (0-2, 1’65), Paul Leonard (0-2); Eoin Kavanagh (0-1), Richie Lawlor (1-2, 1-0 free), Reece Murphy; Jason Gordon (0-1), Michael Laffan (1-1), Francis Dempsey.
Subs: Sean Byrne for Doyle, Cillian Larkin for Dempsey, Dan Browne for R. Murphy, Jake Doyle for Kavanagh, David Kelly for J. Murphy.

Top Oil South Leinster Schools Senior Hurling ‘C’ Championship

Wexford CBS………………………………………1-21
Ramsgrange CS……………………………………1-9
A powerful display from CBS ensured the two points came back to the Boker in this eagerly contested senor championship match but at the end of the day, the Ramsgrange students couldn’t match the firepower of the CBS.
At half-time the score was 1-7 to 0-5 as CBS enjoyed a five point lead as a result of Jack O’Leary’s 19th minute goal and sharp shooting from Richie Lawlor, Adam Howlin and O’Leary.
Ramsgrange CS had punished any slack CBS defending with points and it took a strong start to the second half to put daylight between the teams. Michael Laffan, Philip Rawson and Richie Lawlor grabbed points to make it 1-10 to 0-5.
CBS pulled further ahead as Jack O’Leary, Adam Howlin, Philip Rawson and a brace of converted frees from Howlin made it 1-15 to 0-6.
What was pleasing for management was the contribution of the subs as they all contributed to a fine win and solid start to the championship.
Wexford CBS: Francis Dempsey; Josh McMahon, Adam Dempsey, Ben Hynes; Conor Graydon, Emmett Nolan, Paul Leonard; Jack O’Leary (1-4, 1f), Aaron Clancy; Shane Doyle, Kyle Scallan, Philip Rawson (0-2); Richie Lawlor (0-3), Adam Howlin (0-7, 4f), Lee Hore.
Subs: Michael Laffan (0-2) for Doyle, Jason Gordon (0-2) for Hore, Dylan Jones (0-1), Sean Reck for Clancy, Cillian Larkin for Hynes.
Ref: James Flood.

Wednesday 13 September 2017


Congratulations to 6th Year student Diarmuid McDonald who was nominated to attend a leadership course during the summer with Cycle Against Suicide. Also well done to our school under the guidance of Ms. Ivers , as once again we have been awarded Ambassador Status by CAS. This is a huge achievement as we continue to spread the word about the suicide in our community and nation.

First Years 2017-18

Welcome to the classes of Bernini, Monet, Picasso and Rembrandt.

Welcome Back

A warm welcome back to Wexford C.B.S. after the summer break. We have 116 new First Years and nine new staff members, the landscape is always changing. It will be a unique at The Boker as we will move into our new school during this school year. New beginings.