Wednesday 30 April 2014

Cycle Against Suicide

Well done to the students and teachers who completed the 90k cycle from Carlow to Waterford yesterday. It was a fabulous day of awareness and sunshine and getting to cycle with 600 others, all willing to share the message, that, ''It's ok to not to feel ok, and it is absolutely OK to ask for help''
Thank you to Ms. Ivers for organising our participation and to Mr. Larry Coleman for transporting the bikes to Carlow and from Waterford, also to the parents and friends who cycled with us.


Friday 11 April 2014

South Leinster Juvenile Hurling C Final

Ballyhale VC......................1-7
Wexford CBS.....................0-7
Wasteful Wexford CBS paid a heavy price in O’Kennedy Park, New Ross last Wednesday as Ballyhale VC took the South Leinster Juvenile Hurling C title. The Wexford students had enough goal chances to win three matches but failed to take any of them and returned empty handed.
From the throw-in Ben McMahon passed to Philip Rawson and his stinging shot was somehow saved by Dean Mason in the Ballyhale goal. Three quick wides followed up as CBS failed to convert their dominance into scores.
To rub salt into it, Ballyhale opened the scoring with a converted free. CBS continue to struggle upfront and it wasn’t until the 15th minute that Jack O’Leary passed to Chris Cowman and the later split the posts.
The Kilkenny teenagers tagged on another three points in the first half but were also guilty of some poor wides.
In the 25th minute CBS full-forward Cian Rossiter was pushed over in the square and a penalty was awarded. Jordan Hayes’s effort was pushed around the post for a ’65 which came to nothing.
Moments later Jordan Hayes burst through the Ballyhale defence but his rasper bounced off the crossbar. Centre-back Cathal Kirwan surged up field to point and that left the half-time score at 0-4 to 0-2 in favour of the Kilkenny boys.
Ballyhale had two points within sixty seconds of the restart and they added a goal to their six points in the 33rd minute which left CBS with a mountain to climb. However, they dominated the remainder of the game but just couldn’t find the net or enough points to get themselves into a position to win the game.
The points eventually arrived when substitute Gary Carroll was fouled and Jordan Hayes pointed and Chris Cowman’s clever sideline found Cathal Kirwan for his second point. Aaron Clancy placed Jordan Hayes for a point before Hayes was fouled and popped over the free himself.
With ten minutes to go, it was 1-6 to 0-6 and the momentum was with the Wexford lads but the goal didn’t arrive as Dean Mason made some good saves. Try as they might, CBS couldn’t get the scores they needed and Ballyhale ran out winners.
Wexford CBS: Adam Howlin (Shelmaliers); Ben Hayes (St. Mary’s Rosslare), Adam Dempsey (Faythe Harriers), Ryan McLoughlin (St. Mary’s Rosslare); Aaron Clancy (St. Martin’s), Cathal Kirwan (Faythe Harriers 0-2), Conor Graydon (Glynn-Barntown); Jack O’Leary (Volunteers Capt.), Ben McMahon (Volunteers); Philip Rawson (St. Anne’s), Chris Cowman (Shelmaliers 0-1), Luke Dowdall (Volunteers); Jordan Hayes (St. Martin’s 0-4, 2 frees), Cian Rossiter (Volunteers), Cian O’Connor (Clonard).
Subs: Gary Carroll (Faythe Harriers) for O’Connor, Stephen Doyle (Faythe Harriers) for Rossiter.

Ballyhale VC: Dean Mason; Billy Moran, Luke Ward, Jamie Barron; Jamie McLoughlin, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Paraic Delahunty; Jack Walsh, Patrick Heane; Adam Masood, Michael Murphy, Paul Hennessy; Mark McNamara, Ronan Hayes, Sean Fitzpatrick.  

Kettle Bell Champions

Congratulations to Shane Kelly who won gold in Clean and Jerk 20kg bells - 32 reps.
Daniel Curran who won gold in Jerk with 16kg bells - 56 reps and silver in Snatch with 16kg - 98 reps
Ian Kelly who won gold in Snatch with 18kg bells - 103 reps

Tuesday 8 April 2014

China Tour 2014

31 Transition students and 3 staff members have just returned from a 10 day trip to China, visiting Beijing and Xian. They walked the Great Wall in Beijing and cycled the city wall of Xian. Also the Terrecotta Warriors , Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven and many other sites were visited. A lesson in Kung Fu and a visit to a Chinese Massage centre were also highlights. A special thank you to Tony, Jane, Lila and Sophie who looked after us there.

National Public Speaking Champions

Wexford CBS became the 33rd champoins in this annual public speaking final held in Trinity College, last Saturday.They competed against Heywood Community College, Laois and St. Joseph's Foxford,Co. Mayo. The topic was ''Is mental health determined by memorable yesterdays, cheerful todays and hopeful tomorrows?''
Jack Crean, Eric McGuire and Matthew Devereux produced a stunning performance to seal the top prize. Ross Long who was also well prepared if needed. The cup now rests among the other silverware accumulated by the school this year. Well done to Mr. Whitty and his team.

Monday 7 April 2014

Positive Affirmations

Work Ethic
William Cole, Philip Cullen, Cian Foley, Liam Roche, Lee Somers, Ben Butler, Darragh Whelan, Loke O'Neill, Justin Butler, Martin Kehoe.
Extra Curricular
Shane Moore, Shane Doyle, Ryan Kavanagh, Ryan Healy, Garry Carroll, Eoin Kinsella, Shane Bergin. David Harte, Ryan Hodge, Conor Larkin, Dylan Broaders, Ben Anthony Donnelly, Noah Santschi-Cooney, Jack Smtyh, Thomas Shore, Domantas Sniezka, Adam Barnes.
Good Deeds
Robert Borham