Friday 30 September 2016

School Mass

Our school community celebrated the start of year mass in Bride Street on Tuesday last. It was a beautiful ceremony which celebrated all that is good in our school. Fr. James Cullen , our chaplin prayed for a successful school year, welcomed our new first years and also included our past pupils as they make their way in the world of work and further education.

Thursday 29 September 2016

South Leinster Junior Hurling B c’ship Round 2

Enniscorthy CBS………………..2-15
Wexford CBS………..…………..0-8

The battle of the CBSs saw the Enniscorthy version come out comfortably on top at the end but not before after a stern challenge from their Wexford town rivals. It was 1-10 to 0-6 at half-time as dogged resistance from the Bokerboys kept them in the game.
However, this eventually faded as the second half went on and Enniscorthy struck for a late goal to put daylight between the teams.
Points from Glen Murphy Butler (free), Lee Hore and Dan Browne had CBS trailing by 1-4 to 0-3 at the end of the first quarter and CBS were unfortunate to lose two members of their half-back line Paul Leonard and Emmett Nolan to injury around this time.
It was a brave battling performance with exceptional displays from Richie Lawlor, Josh Shiel, Glen Murphy Butler and Josh McMahon. Next up is the final group game v FCJ Bunclody.

Wexford CBS: Francis Dempsey; Joe Barrett, Josh McMahon (Capt.), Josh Murphy; Gary Carroll, Paul Leonard, Emmett Nolan; Glen Murphy Butler (0-6 frees), Reece Murphy; Conor Graydon, Josh Shiel, Richie Lawlor; Dan Browne (0-1), Lee Hore (0-1), Shane Doyle.

Subs: Dylan Jones for Leonard inj. 8 mins, David McDonnell for Nolan inj. 12 mins, Sean Reck for Browne 45 mins, Wen Gen Lin for Lawlor inj. 47 mins, Tre Long for Hore 54 mins.

South Leinster Junior Hurling B c’ship

Gorey CS………………..4-12
Wexford CBS………..…1-8

CBS lost the toss and had to play into the strong wind in the first half. Things were tight at the star but Gorey eventually began to pull away and were 1-4 to -1 ahead after 10 minutes.
However, CBS clawed their way back into the game through Glen Murphy Butler pointed frees but the concession of two soft goals towards the end of the half were killer blows as the HT score was 3-9 to 0-5.
CBS continued to battle and were rewarded when Glen Murphy-Butler’s free went all the way to the net after 46 minutes but Gorey were the better side and ran out comfortable winners at the end.
CBS have games remaining v Enniscorthy CBS and FCJ Bunclody.
Wexford CBS: Francis Dempsey; Joe Barrett, Josh McMahon (Capt.), Josh Murphy; Gary Carroll, Paul Leonard, Conor Graydon; Glen Murphy Butler (1-7 frees), Reece Murphy; Daniel Long, Josh Shiel (0-1), Richie Lawlor; Adam Feery, Lee Hore, Shane Doyle.
Subs: Dan Browne for Doyle, Tre Long for Dempsey inj., Jack Abrams for Graydon.

Top Oil South Leinster Colleges Senior Hurling championship

Wexford CBS……………1-16
Bridgetown VC………...1-8

CBS emerged from a tough battle with Bridgetown VC with both points. Played at a blustery Pairc Charman, it wasn’t until the final minute when Philip Rawson’s long range shot went all the way to the net that the game was resolved.
CBS started slowly but built up a nice 0-5 to 0-1 lead after 20 minutes thanks to five points (4f) from the very sharp Glen Murphy Butler. However a defensive lapse allowed Bridgetown in for a neat goal and at half-time there was just a point between the sides (0-7 to 1-3).
The Bokerboys dominated the third quarter with points from Conor Graydon, Murphy Butler, Philip Rawson and Jack O’Leary and moved into an 0-11 to 1-4 lead.
To be fair Bridgetown wouldn’t give up and kept on CBS’s tails right until the end when Rawson’s shot dropped short and deceived the keeper to put daylight between the sides in the 61st minute.
Next up for CBS is an away game v Ramsgrange CS, where a victory would ensure top of the group and a place in the South Leinster semi-final.

Wexford CBS: Adam Howlin; Ben McMahon, Adam Dempsey, Shane Hall; Aaron Clancy, Cormac Byrne, Josh McMahon; Chris Cowman, Cathal Kirwan; Dion Murphy, Philip Rawson (1-1), Shane Doyle; Glen Murphy-Butler (0-11, 7f), Jack O’Leary (0-3), Daniel Long.
Sub: Conor Graydon (0-1) for Long.

Aidan Foley.

Friday 16 September 2016

CAS Student Leader

The annual Cycle Against Suicide Student Leader Ambassadors’ Retreat took place in Kippure Estate, Co. Wicklow on Thursday and Friday, August 18th and 19th last. 

The Retreat, now in its third year, recognises students for their exceptional contribution to the area of mental health. The aim of the Student Leader Ambassador Programme is to harness the immense leadership potential of these young adults, and empower them to bring the Cycle Against Suicide message, “It’s OK not to feel OK; and it’s absolutely OK to ask for help”, back to their schools and communities. The Student Leaders actively participate in all Cycle Against Suicide activities throughout the year.

Among the group of exceptional students, nominated by their schools and selected from hundreds of applicants, was Patrick Dobbs of CBS, Wexford. Patrick and his fellow Student Leader Ambassadors from all over the island of Ireland gathered to participate in the wide range of workshops, including Media Skills, Outdoor Pursuits, Team Building, Presentation Skills and Leadership Training. 

As well as participating in workshops and presentations, students also collaborated to develop a theme for this year's Student Leaders' Congress, which will take place in University of Limerick on January 19th, 2017. 

Link Teacher Ruth Ivers said, 'It is a huge honour for CBS Wexford to have a student selected for such a prestigious and worthwhile programme at a national level. We are immensely proud of Patrick’s achievement’.

Among the inspiring guests presenting at this year's Retreat were Jim Breen, Founder of Cycle Against Suicide, and Ombudsman for Children, Niall Muldoon. 

Meitheal Leaders 2016-17

Congratulations to this group of select Leaving Cert students who will keep a watchful eye over our new First Years throughout the year

Transition Year

Transition year students had a very enjoyable day of outdoor activity in Shielbaggan Outdoor Centre recently. They got to explore caves, coast steer and climb.

Congratulations to our Leaving Cert Class

Congratulations to our Leaving Cert class who did very well in their final exams, we wish them the very best as they embark on the next leg of their journey through life, for many it is further education and more it is the worl of work . Good luck to you all. Special mention to Daniel Lynch who achieved the Student of the Year for his superb results.

New Gym

Second Year Mozart are the first class to use the new gym.

Going Going Gone

 The old gym finally falls without much resistance.

Welcome Back

Welcome back to school to all our 600 pupils and 60 staff members. A particular warm welcome to all our new First Year students who will be divided into four class groups named after 1916 leaders, Pearse, Connolly, McDonagh and Brennan.
The school has relocated to the a new temporary school situated on the playing field at the rear of the original school. This is home for now until the new school is completed.