Sunday 18 September 2011

South Leinster Junior Hurling Colleges ‘C’ Championship:

The Bokerboys in their new jersies sponsored by Kehoe Ceilings.

Wexford CBS.............5-10
New Ross CBS............2-8

Wexford CBS won the battle of the CBSs last Friday when they overcame the challenge of New Ross CBS in O’Kennedy Park in the first round of the South Leinster Junior (under16 ½) Hurling Colleges ‘C’ Championship. Played in glorious weather conditions on a perfect sod, the Boker Boys just had too much firepower for their opponents and ran out comfortable winners in the end.

It was the New Ross lads who started brightest despite playing into the wind as they pointed an early free before scoring a fine goal. However Wexford CBS settled and John Forde grabbed a superb goal when he collected a pass from Joseph McBride before unleashing an unstoppable shot to the net.

Impressive midfielder George Cullen scored a fine point before Rob Donnelly flashed the ball to the net for the Wexford town school to leave the score at 2-1 to 1-1 after eleven minutes.

Wexford CBS began to press home their superiority with Cullen and Ian Moran adding points but New Ross clung in there with trio of points around the quarter hour mark.

John Forde was a constant thorn in New Ross CBS’s side and he scored his second goal just before the break and the sides retired at half-time with the score standing at 3-6 to 1-5.

Hard-working centre-forward Jamie McDonnell broke through for a fine individual goal in the 36th minute which put daylight between the teams and Joseph McBride registered the fifth goal for Wexford CBS following a mazy solo run five minutes later.

New Ross CBS battled hard until the end but couldn’t prevent the Wexford lads running out eleven point winners. Best for Wexford CBS were Ciaran Kirwan, George Cullen, Jamie McDonnell and John Forde.

Wexford CBS: Brad Cohen (St. Martin’s); Ryan D’Arcy (Faythe Harriers), Geroid Finn (St. Anne’s), James Somers (Faythe Harriers); Conor Fenlon (Glynn-Barntown), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), Luke Byrne (Faythe Harriers); Garry Murphy (Faythe Harriers, Capt.), George Cullen (St. John’s, 0-2); Eoin Roche (Faythe Harriers, 0-2), Jamie McDonnell (Faythe Harriers, 1-1), Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley, 1-1); John Forde (Shelmaliers, 2-0), Ian Moran (Glynn-Barntown (0-3), Joseph McBride (St. John’s, 1-1).
Sub: Adam McDade (Faythe Harriers) for Moran.
Ref: John Bennett (Tullogher-Rosbercon).

No comments:

Post a Comment