Monday, 9 April 2018

Leinster First Year Hurling Division 3 Final

Wednesday March 22, 2018 at Heywood Astroturf, Laois

Wexford CBS………………….……….9-8
Cistercian College Roscrea……….5-4
WONDERFUL Wexford CBS fought their way to victory in the inaugural Leinster First Year Division 3 final after a bruising battle with the students from Cistercian College Roscrea.
The final was played on Astroturf and was 13-a-side due to Roscrea suffering injuries and being down to 14 players. This was disappointing as CBS had a panel of 28.
CBS started well and Andrew Moran found the net after a strong run but despite playing into the strong wind Roscrea replied with a goal of their own. However, the Bokerboys were determined to make good on their wind advantage and Liam Donoghue nabbed a point before team captain Cian Doyle took over the middle section of the half. He soloed through for a lovely goal before tagging on two points (one free).
CBS extended their advantage when Adam Murphy found the net but Roscrea replied with a goal of their own (3-3 to 2-0). Rian Sammon was switched to their danger man and Fionn O’Callaghan went out to centre-back where he dominated.
CBS sensed they needed more scores before the break and vital goals from Quinn Kelly and a second from the influential Andrew Moran gave CBS a very important cushion at HT of 5-5 to 2-1.
The first ten minutes of the new half were crucial and it was the CBS defence with Brohan, Sammon and O’Callaghan prominent who stood firm and conceded nothing despite facing the wind. Instead Liam Donoghue - who was growing into the game - lashed home a goal and added a point before O’Callaghan sent over a long distance point.
The Roscrea students - who were considerably bigger than the Wexford students - refused to accept defeat and launched a comeback. CBS could have withheld it but became a bit jittery and missed some easy chances.
Roscrea struck for three goals in a short space of time to leave the score at 6-7 to 5-4 with twelve minutes to go. The Astroturf was leading to a very fast game of hurling which was yielding plenty of goal scoring chances which kept both keepers (who were excellent) very busy.
CBS eased any fears when midfielder Tadhg Hayes scores his side’s 7th goal and it was the eventual winners who finished stronger and added 2-1 (goals from Conor Mackey and Cian Doyle) without reply to claim the cup. 
This was an impressive victory by Wexford CBS who had to battle hard despite what the scoreline may suggest. They have been working hard all year with teachers Mr. Brosnan and Mr. Blake and are also well coached by Wexford GDA Willie Cleary who was there to guide them.
Most of these players are on the school’s under-14 ½ team who are currently joint top of the South Leinster Juvenile ‘B’ championship with two wins from three games.
All of these players will represent the school at the Rice Cup blitz in Kilkenny after Easter where they will play other CBSs mostly from Munster.
Wexford CBS: William Linn; Danny Howlin, Fionn O’Callaghan (0-2); Oisin Meyler, Tadhg Brohan, Rian Sammon; Cian Doyle (Capt., 2-4, 0-2 frees, 0-1 ’65), Tadhg Hayes (1-0); Jack Kennedy, Andrew Moran (2-0), Adam Murphy (1-0); Liam Donoghue (1-2), Quinn Kelly (1-0).
Subs: Conor Mackey (1-0) for Kelly, Callum McDonald for Kennedy, Dylan Moran for Murphy, Darragh Sinnott for Donoghue, Harry Quirke for Howlin. Also Alex Breen, Darragh Browne, Luke Cullen, Conor Dempsey, Ruairi Flannery, Eoin McMahon, Evan Murphy, Stephen McDonnell, Eoin Walsh, Mustafa.

No comments:

Post a Comment