Tuesday 28 February 2012

South Leinster Juvenile ‘B’ Hurling championship: Tuesday February 28th, 2012

Gorey Community School...........2-12
Wexford C.B.S............................1-11

Wexford C.B.S. put in a brave performance in this South Leinster Juvenile ‘B’ Hurling Championship clash in Parc Charman on Tuesday before Gorey Community School ran out winners by four points.
The opening exchanges were even until Gorey’s excellent centre-forward Conor Levingstone scored two brilliant points to get his side off the mark.  CBS responded with brace of points from their centre-forward Stephen ‘Turk’ Kearney to tie up the score.
That was how the game remained until the 19th minute when disaster struck for CBS when Levingstone went on a mazy run but his shot on goal was hooked and the breaking ball fell to the Gorey full-forward who buried the ball in the net.
There was more trouble in the 26th minute when a Gorey forward got inside the defence and gave Shane McGrath no chance in the CBS goal. The Bokerboys were creating plenty of chances but they hit twelve first half wides which did a lot of harm. Stephen Kearney tapped over a free before the break to leave his sides trailing by nine points (2-6 to 0-3).
Two quick points from Turk were answered by Gorey with two points of their own but CBS got a run on their opponents in the third quarter as they sharpened up their shooting and began to cut out the silly mistakes.
Turk placed Kevin Corrigan for a nice point before Stephen Rossiter found Kevin Birney and he flashed the ball over the bar (2-8 to 0-7). It was obvious CBS needed a goal but Gorey’s defence held firm.
Gorey surged further ahead with two points but CBS answered with points from Turk Kearney (two), Stephen Rossiter (free) and Liam Rockett to leave the score at 2-12 to 0-11.
The goal CBS needed arrived in the 55th minute courtesy of a blistering 21 yard free from Turk but at the other end CBS keeper Shane McGrath had to be alert to keep out a shot from Conor Levingstone.
Try as they might, CBS couldn’t close the gap any further and the Gorey lads ran out four point winners.
Wexford C.B.S.: Shane McGrath (Faythe Harriers); Kevin Harte (Shelmaliers), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers), Cormac Byrne (Faythe Harriers); Eoin Doyle (Faythe Harriers), Darragh Rossiter (St. Martin’s), Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s); Stephen Rossiter (Shelmaliers 0-1 free), Liam Hore (Faythe Harriers); Kevin Corrigan (Blackwater 0-1), Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers 1-7, 1-3 frees), Kevin Birney (Glynn-Barntown 0-1); Lee Busher (Volunteers), Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers 0-1), Adam Carroll (Faythe Harriers).
Subs: Aaron McGuire (Volunteers) for Busher, Peter Ryan (Faythe Harriers) for Harte, Gary Cullen (Volunteers) for Carroll, Nicky Kelly (Faythe Harriers) for Hore, Sean Hopkins (Faythe Harriers) for Birney, Aaron Smythe (Volunteers) for Doyle.
Ref: Sean Whelan (St. Martin’s).

No comments:

Post a Comment