Wednesday 22 February 2012

South Leinster Juvenile C Football Final

Ardscoil Rath Iomaghain............ 4-14
Wexford CBS.............................. 5-1

ANY HOPES that Wexford CBS would complete a notable hat-trick of South Leinster juvenile football titles for County Wexford were quickly dashed in Eire Og’s pitch in Carlow last Tuesday as Ardscoil Rath Iomaghain (Kildare) dealt clinically with the Wexford town school.
so far this year Good Counsel (New Ross) have won the ‘A’ title while Enniscorthy CBS claimed the ‘B’ title and a victory for the Bokerboys in this ‘C’ final would have been a fine achievement for the county.
However, at half-time the Rathangan lads had an unassailable lead of 4-11 to 0-0 after playing with the strong wind but don’t be fooled by the wind factor – the Kildare lads were sharper and played some lovely football in that opening half to leave the CBS team stunned.
The tables were turned somewhat in the second half as CBS set about restoring some pride and they dominated the play and scoring but the mountain was far too steep to climb.
The opening exchanges were promising for Wexford CBS and the game was scoreless for the first five minutes but after that the Kildare boys completely took over.
They had some very exciting forwards especially wing-forward Jimmy Hyland who tortured the CBS defence with his mazy incisive runs. It was 2-4 to 0-0 after fifteen minutes and the agony continued as Ardscoil’s forwards enjoyed copious amounts of possession to constantly add to their ever-increasing first half score.
The Wexford CBS team was re-jigged a number of times in an effort to stem the onslaught but nothing worked for them. Losing centre-back Mikey Lawlor to injury in the week before the game didn’t help their cause either.
The referee’s half-time whistle was very welcome to the CBS players who made a valiant effort to regroup.
A good start to the second half was vital for CBS’s wind-assisted comeback and they got it when Darragh Rossiter and Conor Coleman were involved in a move which resulted in Shane McGrath blasting the ball to the net.
Minutes later McGrath converted a free and Stephen Kearney made the CBS score 2-1 in the 41st minute when he found the net with a stinging shot. Team captain Darragh Rossiter went close with a low shot which was inches away from the net but CBS’s third goal arrived in the 45th minute when Dylan Dixon pounced on a sloppy clearance from Ardscoil ‘keeper Conor Mulligan and lobbed the ball over his head and into the net.
CBS maintained their charge even though time was running out and they managed to keep the Kildare side scoreless in the second half until the final few minutes when Jimmy Hyland (2) and Paul Maloney scored points on counter-attacks.
CBS grabbed a fourth goal when Darragh Rossiter passed to Shane McGrath who calmly slotted away his second goal and in the 56th minute a nice move involving Stephen Kearney and Garry Cullen resulted in Adam Carroll palming the ball to the net.
It was a disastrous day for Wexford CBS but they fought like tigers in the second half to go home with some degree of pride and their best displays came from Daniel Lynch, Eoin Doyle, Darragh Rossiter, Stephen Kearney and Shane McGrath.
Ardscoil Rath Iomaghain: Conor Mulligan; Conor Jameson, Austin Bolger Hynes, Stephen Geoghan; Daryl Dunne, Cian O’Neill, Shane Maughan; Eoin Synott, Ciaran Maher; Jimmy Hyland (0-7, 4 frees), Paul Maloney (0-2), Joe Breen (2-0); Darragh Malone (1-1), Shane O’Brien (0-3), Aaron Teehan (1-1).
Wexford CBS: Nigel Donoghue (Glynn-Barntown); Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s), Daniel Lynch (Sarsfields), Aaron McGuire (Volunteers); Aaron Goodison (Volunteers), Darragh Rossiter (St. Martin’s Capt.), Eoin Doyle (Sarsfields); Stephen Kearney (Sarsfields 1-0), Dylan Dixon (Blackwater 1-0); Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers), Jessie Farrell (Volunteers), Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s); Alan Browne (Volunteers), Shane McGrath (Sarsfields 2-1, 0-1 free), Adam Carroll (Sarsfields 1-0).
Subs: Gary Cullen (Volunteers) for P. Rossiter, Aaron Smythe (Volunteers) for Farrell, Kevin Harte (Shelmaliers) for Coleman, Mikey Lawlor (Volunteers), Jack Houghton (Sarsfields), Lee Busher (Clonard), Kevin Corrigan (Blackwater), Chris Cowman (Shelmaliers), Paul Bailey (Sarsfields), Tony Crosbie (Volunteers), Cody Murphy (unattached), Danny Walsh (Sarfields).
Ref: Pat Moran (Carlow).

No comments:

Post a Comment