Thursday 10 May 2012

Flo-Gas Blitz Parc Charman Wednesday May 9th, 2012

Bokerboys blitz all!

After a diversion from Taghmon the under-14 hurlers from Wexford CBS eventually ended up in Parc Charman where they took on Enniscorthy VEC and St. Peter’s College ‘B’ and came away with two victories.

Game 1: Wexford CBS........7-7       Enniscorthy VEC.............3-3
The Bokerboys led at half-time by 4-5 to 1-3 but their opponents, who won the South Leinster Juvenile D title last week, and had an excellent midfielder and they gave CBS plenty to think about.
Daniel Lynch set up Stephen Rossiter for our first goal and then Dylan Dixon passed to Aaron McGuire for our first point. Daniel Lynch got the first of his hat-trick of goals in the 5th minute but Enniscorthy struck back with 1-1.
However, CBS surged ahead again due to diligent attacking play from Liam Hore and Padraig Rossiter aided by strong defending from Cormac Byrne and Danny Walsh. CBS also lost centre-back Kevin Harte with a finger injury in the first half.
Enniscorthy struck for two early goals in the second half and the lead was whittled down to just five points. Shane McGrath settled nerves with a long range point before Padraig Rossiter placed Aaron McGuire for goal and then Rossiter struck for one himself to put the game beyond the Enniscorthy lads.

Wexford CBS (13-a-side):
Jack Haughton; Danny Walsh, Cormac Byrne; Nicky Kelly, Kevin Harte, Peter Ryan; Liam Hore (0-2), Dylan Dixon; Padraig Rossiter (1-1), Daniel Lynch (3-1), Aaron McGuire (2-1); Adam Carroll, Stephen Rossiter (1-1).
Subs: Darragh Rossiter for Kevin Harte inj., Aaron Smythe for Danny Walsh, Kevin Corrigan for Daniel Lynch, Shane McGrath (0-1) for Dylan Dixon. 

Game 2: Wexford CBS.........7-12      St. Peter’s College ‘B’..........2-6
CBS tore into this game at 100 mph and quickly established a big lead which St. Peter’s found hard to peg back. Conor Coleman grabbed the first goal in the 3rd minute and Liam Rockett added another when he batted the ball past the keeper from close range.
CBS tagged on the points with efforts from Turk Kearney (two frees), Conor Coleman (two), Liam Rockett and Aaron McGuire. The half-time score was CBS 4-8 to 0-2. Coach Willie Carley challenged the Bokerboys to win the second half too. St. Peter’s had the better of the early exchanges and pounced for 1-4 but CBS eventually got in gear with Conor Coleman’s third goal and then Daniel Lynch gave Kevin Corrigan a lovely pass and he drove the ball to the net. Two late Conor Coleman points were added to by Stephen Kearney’s goal and CBS had wrapped up victory in the second half too! Well done to all.
Wexford CBS: Jack Haughton; Danny Walsh, Cormac Byrne, Aaron Smythe; Shane McGrath, Darragh Rossiter, Nicky Kelly; Dylan Dixon, Liam Hore; Aaron McGuire (0-2), Stephen Kearney (2-5, 0-3 frees), Liam Rockett (1-1); Conor Coleman (3-4), Daniel Lynch, Stephen Rossiter.
Subs: Padraig Rossiter for Aaron Smythe, Peter Ryan for Danny Walsh, Kevin Harte for Nicky Kelly, Kevin Corrigan (1-0) for Stephen Rossiter, Adam Carroll for Aaron McGuire.

No comments:

Post a Comment