Tuesday 19 November 2013

Senior Hurling - South Leinster 'C' Semi-Final

Wexford CBS......................3-21    New Ross VC...............0-6
This South Leinster Schools Senior Hurling ‘C’ semi-final in Pairc Charman was competitive for the first ten minutes. Then Wexford CBS took a foothold in the game and went on to dominate  their opponents and clinch a place in the South Leinster final.
The New Ross men backboned by Kilkenny minor Alan Murphy, his brother Shane and club colleague Philip Roche couldn’t handle the home side’s better balance.
CBS led at the break by 3-9 to 0-3 with goals coming from Mikey Coleman, his cousin Joe Coleman and the third from John Forde following a strong run from centre-back Ciaran Kirwan.
Indeed Kirwan very adequately handled Alan Murphy who was switched to centre-field after 20 minutes where Jamie McDonnell hurled very well on the Kilkenny man.
The Wexford students scored some lovely points in the first half with Joe Coleman, Eoin Roche and Joe McBride impressing.
On the restart, CBS kept their foot on the gas and reeled off points from Joe Coleman (2), Sean Stafford, Ian Moran and a neat brace from Rob Donnelly.
Alan Murphy was New Ross VC’s scoring threat and four of his six points came from placed balls. Brad Cohen made a smart save at the expense of a ’65 which was converted but there was no way back as CBS added the points and ran out winners by a comfortable margin.
A much sterner test awaits the Boker boys in the final in the shape of Wicklow Schools who are a combination of all the schools in Wicklow except Colaiste Bhride (Carnew).
New Ross VC: Brad Cohen (St. Martin’s); Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers), Evan Dunbar (St. Martin’s), John Hamilton (St. Martin’s); Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers); Jamie McDonnell (Faythe Harriers, 0-1, Capt.), Sean Stafford (St. Martin’s 0-3 2f 1‘65); Mikey Coleman (St. Martin’s 1-1), Eoin Roche (Faythe Harriers 0-3), Joe McBride (Volunteers 0-1); John Forde (Shelmaliers 1-0), Joe Coleman (St. Martin’s 1-8 2 f), Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley 0-2).
Subs (all half-time): Richie Cleary (Clonard) for Hamilton, Dylan Hynes (Clonard 0-1) for Forde, Gearoid Finn (St. Anne’s) for Kirwan, Ian Moran (Glynn-Barntown 0-1) for Stafford, Liam Hore (Faythe Harriers) for McBride.
New Ross VC: Dan Kelly (St. Mullin’s); Steven Elms (St. Mullin’s), PJ Hartley (Glenmore), Mark Boland (Tullogher-Rosbercon); Brian Creane (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown), Philip Roche (Glenmore), John Forristal (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown); Shane Murphy (Glenmore), Steven Cody (Glenmore); Ciaran O’Connor (Glenmore), Alan Murphy (Glenmore (0-6 4f), Shane O’Connor (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown); Thomas Dunne (Glenmore), Richie Kinsella (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown), Eoin Grace (Hugginstown).
Subs: James Fitzgerald (Tullogher-Rosbercon), Steven Gahan (Tullogher-Rosbercon), Stevie Murphy (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown).

Ref: Seanie O’Shea (Blackwater).

No comments:

Post a Comment