Sunday, 10 November 2013

South Leinster Juvenile Football 'C' Championship

Wexford CBS.......6-04    St. Kevin’s College (Dunlavin).....0- 10

Wexford CBS juvenile footballers opened their South Leinster Championship campaign with a fine twelve point win over St Kevin’s College Dunlavin on Wednesday in Pairc Charman. Dunlavin opened the scoring after five minutes but the Boker Boys were quick to respond with a well taken goal from Ben Creane. Luke Dowdall and captain Jack O’Leary added two more points to open a four point lead over the Wicklow visitors. 
Torrential rain and a strong wind made for difficult conditions for the rest of the first half but the CBS men rose above the elements. Phil Rawson raised the green flag again for the Wexford students with a clinical finish.
Jordan Hayes broke through the Dunlavin rear-guard on two separate occasions to score two great goals. Just before the half time whistle, Phil Rawson notched another goal and Wexford CBS had built up an unassailable lead of 5-02 to 0-03.
Despite the one-sided first half Dunlavin started the stronger in the second half, scoring four points before Leon Nolan got the home side’s first score of the half with a great point from the outside of his left boot. However, the men from the Garden County now had a greater share of procession but courageous defending from Cathal Kirwan, Ben McMahon and Jamie Thomas meant no goal opportunities came their way.
After a period of sustained Dunlavin pressure which yielded a further three points, Phil Rawson continued his scoring exploits with a fine point. This point proved to inspire Wexford CBS and a great passing move down the right side of the field cumulated in a fisted goal by Leon Nolan. In the dying moments, goalkeeper Adam Howlin denied Dunlavin a goal with a top-drawer save as the CBS recorded a welcome victory.
Best for Wexford CBS were Jamie Thomas, Ben McMahon, Jack O’Leary, Adam Dempsey, Jordan Hayes and man of the match Phil Rawson.
Wexford CBS: Adam Howlin (Shelmaliers); Cian Rossiter (Volunteers), Cathal Kirwan (Sarsfields), Matthew Currid (Volunteers); Jamie Thomas (St. Mary’s Maudlintown), Ben McMahon (Volunteers), Eoghan Reck (Volunteers); Jack O’Leary (Volunteers 0-1), Leon Nolan (St. Mary’s Maudlintown 1-1); Adam Dempsey (Sarsfields), Luke Dowdall (Volunteers 0-1), T.J. Cousins (Glynn/Barntown); Phil Rawson (St. Anne’s 2-1), Jordan Hayes (St. Martin’s 2-0), Ben Creane (Volunteers, 1-0).
Gary Hall-Roche (St. Joseph’s) for Rossiter, Jason Moore (Volunteers) for Currid, Ryan Busher (Sarsfields) for Cousins, Kallum Broaders (unattached) for Dowdall.

No comments:

Post a Comment