Thursday 28 November 2013

South Leinster Senior Hurling ‘C’ Final

Wexford CBS............2-16    Wicklow Schools.........0-5
An excellent defensive performance coupled with a remarkable seven point haul from play by Eoin Roche propelled Wexford CBS to a comfortable victory over Wicklow Schools in the South Leinster Senior Hurling ‘C’ final at Bellefield last Tuesday.
This result means Wexford CBS will compete in the Leinster Schools Senior Hurling ‘B’ championship next year and they will take on North Leinster champions Scoil Mhuire (Clane) in the Leinster semi-final next February.
CBS, coached by Fr. Brian Whelan and Willie Carley junior, could have had a super start when Ian Moran cut through the Wicklow defence and passed to Joe McBride who saw his stinging shot rebound off the crossbar. The Wexford defence quickly got on top of their opponents and led by Ciaran Kirwan they totally dominated proceedings.
It was Kirwan who picked out Sean Stafford for the opening score – a point – after three minutes. The first goal arrived soon afterwards and when Kirwan found Ian Moran who lashed the ball to the net.
Joe McBride was denied again (this time by the keeper) on ten minutes but Sean Stafford followed up to tap it over and make the score 1-2 to nil.
Wicklow Schools (made up of all secondary schools in County Wicklow apart from Colaiste Bhride in Carnew) were struggling to contain the Boker boys at this stage. However, Joe Coleman sent a screamer to the top right hand corner of the net in the 25th minute which put CBS 2-7 to 0-1 in front and this gave the Wexford students a considerable cushion.
Eoin Roche scored three of his seven points in the first half which helped his team-mates go in at the break ahead by 2-9 to 0-1.
Wicklow were awarded a 21 yard free early in the second half which was saved and cleared while at the other end after nice passing Eoin Roche opened the scoring with his fourth point and captain Jamie McDonnell raced through to tap over shortly afterwards.
Wicklow Schools never gave up but they couldn’t find a way through the CBS rearguard well marshalled by Ciaran Kirwan and Evan Dunbar. All of their points came from frees except one from play by midfielder Padraig Doyle.
All of the CBS forwards scored as well as both midfielders which is a testament to the dominance they exerted over their opposition. After the game Leinster Council’s Pat Henderson presented the trophy to CBS captain Jamie McDonnell.
After losing South Leinster finals in juvenile and junior in recent years, this victory is a reward to the players for their continued improvement and dedication. A major factor in this victory is that ten of the team are on the Combined Schools panel.
This was the CBS’s tenth match since September (four championship and six challenge) and with injured players Stephen Kearney, Liam Barry and Richie Cleary to come back into the fold they will look forward to the challenge that Leinster champions Scoil Mhuire (Clane) will present in February.
Wexford CBS: Brad Cohen (St. Martin’s); Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers), Evan Dunbar (Faythe Harriers), John Hamilton (St. Martin’s); Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers); Jamie McDonnell (Faythe Harriers Capt., 0-1), Sean Stafford (St. Martin’s 0-3 2f); Eoin Roche (Faythe Harriers 0-7), Ian Moran (Glynn-Barntown 1-0), Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley 0-1); Mikey Coleman (St. Martin’s 0-1), Joe Coleman (St. Martin’s 1-2 0-1f), Joe McBride (Volunteers 0-1).
Subs: John Forde (Shelmaliers) for Moran, Dylan Hynes (Clonard) for M. Coleman, Gearoid Finn (St. Anne’s) for Lynch, Liam Hore (Faythe Harriers) for McBride.

Wicklow Schools: Cormack Geraghty; Christy Moorehouse, James Manley, Ronan Manley; Sean O’Callaghan, Dean O’Gorman, Jack Furlong McCaul; Padraig Doyle (0-1), Andrew Kavanagh; Matt Thompson, Stephen Cruise (0-4 3f 1’65, Paul O’Brien; Michael Boland, Tiernan Mellon, Eoin Baker.
Ref: Dickie Murphy (Rapparees). 

No comments:

Post a Comment