Thursday 18 October 2012

CBS claim Keevans Cup: First Year Blitz

After a feast of football the First Years of Wexford CBS claimed the Keevans Cup (Roinn 2) in fine style last Tuesday at Parc Charman with victories over Enniscorthy CBS ‘B’ and ‘C’ teams, St. Peter’s College ‘B’ (twice) and Good Counsel ‘B’.
Coached and prepared by teachers Mr Davey and Mr Smith, the Wexford CBS students enjoyed five wins in the day-long blitz. The results of the day went as follows:
Group stages - Round 1: Wexford CBS 6-7 Enniscorthy CBS ‘C’ 1-0. Scorers: Jordan Hayes (4-1), Luke Dowdall (1-2), Leon Nolan-Cullen (1-0), Cathal Kirwan and Ben Butler (0-2 each).
Round 2: Wexford CBS 1-6 St. Peter’s College ‘B’ 0-2. Scorers: Jack O’Leary 0-3 (1 free), Ryan Busher 1-0, Luke Dowdall, Matthew Currid and Shane Hall (0-1 each).
Round 3: Wexford CBS 1-4 Good Counsel ‘B’ 1-0. Scorers: Jordan Hayes (1-1), Eoin Reck (0-2), Leon Nolan (0-1).
Semi Final: Wexford CBS 4-9 Enniscorthy CBS ‘B’ 0-1. Wexford CBS progressed to the final of the Keevans Cup with a comfortable win over the Enniscorthy CBS second team. From the throw-in the Boker Boys dominated with Jordan Hayes raising white flags with three fine points.
More points were to come from Luke Dowdall and the hard working wing forward Phil Rawson as the Wexford town students dominated proceedings. The best score of the first half came from the left boot of Luke Dowdall after he cut through the Enniscorthy defence to rifle the ball to the top corner of the net to leave the half time score at 1-5 to 0-0 in favour of Wexford CBS.
The second half was much the same as the first. Stout defending from Cathal Kirwan and David McDonald kept Enniscorthy at bay while tiresome work from midfielders Jack O’ Leary and Leon Nolan ensured that the Boker Boy forwards had a rich supply of possession. Matthew Currid burst through the Enniscorthy rear-guard to bury the ball into the back of the net after three minutes. Ben Butler and Cathal Kirwan added a point each before Luke Dowdall enhanced the Wexford school’s lead with a brace of points.
Jordan Hayes exploited some hesitant defending to add another goal to his side’s tally. Phil Rawson registered the last score of the game with a well taken goal in the dying seconds. Best for the Boker Boys in an outstanding team performance were Peter Doyle, Cathal Kirwan, Leon Nolan-Cullen, Jack O’Leary, Philip Rawson, Luke Dowdall and Jordan Hayes.
Wexford CBS: Adam Howlin (Shelmaliers); Darragh Whelan (Clonard), David McDonald (unattached), Peter Doyle (St. Mary’s Mauldintown); Eoghan Reck (Volunteers), Cathal Kirwan (Sarsfields 0-1), Jamie Thomas (St. Mary’s Mauldintown); Jack O’Leary (Volunteers), Leon Nolan-Cullen (St. Mary’s Maudlintown); Philip Rawson (St. Anne’s 1-2), Luke Dowdall (Volunteers 1-3), Ben Butler (Sarsfields 0-1); Ryan Busher (Volunteers), Jordan Hayes (St. Martin’s 1-2), Shane Hall (Sarsfields 0-1).
Subs: T.J Cousins (unattached) for Shane Hall, Matthew Currid (Volunteers 1-0) for Ryan Busher, Ben McMahon (Volunteers) for Jack O’Leary, Aaron Kinsella (Volunteers) for Eoghan Reck, Cian Rossiter (Volunteers) for Jamie Thomas.
Final: Wexford CBS 3-5 St. Peter’s College ‘B’ 0-2. The Keevans Cup winged its way back to Wexford CBS following this convincing victory over St. Peter’s College B team. CBS repeated their group game victory as they led from the start and notched up three points from Jordan Hayes (0-2) and Shane Hall (0-1) before St. Peter’s had registered their first point.
The Boker Boys responded to St. Peter’s opening score when Luke Dowdall continued his goal scoring exploits from the semi-final by thundering the ball to the back of the net five minutes before half time.
Following this Jordan Hayes added to his first point with another well taken point before Luke Dowdall pointed again. The half-time score was Wexford CBS 1-4 St. Peter’s 0-2.
CBS were in no mood to take their foot from the pedal and started the second half strongly once again. Peter Doyle, Eoin Reck and Jamie Thomas defended doggedly against any St. Peter’s attack while Leon Nolan-Cullen and Jack O’Leary dominated midfield once again. The running of Luke Dowdall, Jordan Hayes and Phil Rawson caused the St. Peter’s defence many problems.
The intense pressure from the Boker Boys paid off when they won a thirty yard free from the St. Peter’s goal. Jack O’Leary stepped up and from the placed ball struck the top corner of the goal with a bullet of a shot.
Luke Dowdall matched his first half tally with another goal and a point before the referee blew his final whistle. CBS had outstanding performances in David McDonald, Cathal Kirwan, captain Jack O’Leary, Luke Dowdall and Jordan Hayes.
Wexford CBS: Adam Howlin; Darragh Whelan, David McDonald, Peter Doyle; Eoghan Reck, Cathal Kirwan, Jamie Thomas; Jack O’Leary (1-0), Leon Nolan-Cullen; Philip Rawson, Luke Dowdall (2-2), Ben Butler (0-1); Matthew Currid (1-0), Jordan Hayes (0-2), Shane Hall (0-1). 

No comments:

Post a Comment