Wednesday 17 October 2012

South Leinster Senior Hurling ‘C’ Round 2

Wexford CBS................6-9            Ramsgrange CS............1-8

FIVE second half goals against Ramsgrange CS in Ramsgrange ensured Wexford CBS finished top of their South Leinster Senior Hurling ‘C’ group and graduated to the semi-final of the competition recently.
The half-time score was 1-6 to 0-3 as CBS struggled to shake off their determined opponents. The home side led by 0-2 to 0-1 after ten minutes but around the quarter-hour mark, CBS eventually began to transfer their dominance on to the score board.
Points from Sean Stafford, John Bridges, Eoin Roche and Mark Hayes gave the Bokerboys a 0-4 to 0-2 lead after 17 minutes and that stretched to 0-6 to 0-3 with Stafford’s second score and point following a nice move involving Joe Redmond, Nicky Lawlor and John Bridges which resulted in a point for Eoin Roche.
It got much better for the visitors just before the break when John Bridges and Stephen Kearney combined to send in Eoin Roche for a fine goal.
Ramsgrange were still in the game at the break but as the second half went on CBS pulled away with the help of five goals. Eoin Roche got his second after a John Bridges pass and Sean Stafford set up Evan Dunbar to make it 3-7 to 0-5 after 40 minutes.
The Ramsgrange students struck back with a goal of their own but almost immediately CBS replied through Sean Stafford and soon after Nicky Lawlor and Mikey Coleman placed Evan Dunbar for goal number five.
In the closing stages Stephen Kearney did the donkey work for Sean Stafford to score his second goal with a stinging shot to the corner.
Once CBS got into their stride they were impressive but massive improvements are needed if they are to go further in this competition. They play the winner of the clash between Ballyhale VC and Colaiste Bhride Carnew in the semi-final.
Best on the day were John Hamilton, Jason Kearns, Ciaran Kirwan, Jamie McDonnell, Sean Stafford and Eoin Roche (in the second half).

Wexford CBS:
Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley); Liam Barry (Faythe Harriers), James Somers (Faythe Harriers), John Hamilton (St. Martin’s); Jason Kearns (Volunteers), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers); Jamie McDonnell (Faythe Harriers Capt.), Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers); John Bridges (Faythe Harriers 0-3, 1 f), Evan Dunbar (St. Martin’s, 2-0), Mark Hayes (St. Martin’s, 0-1); Sean Stafford (St. Martin’s, 2-3), Eoin Roche (Faythe Harriers 2-2), Joe McBride (Volunteers).
Subs: Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers) for Joe McBride, Mikey Coleman (St. Martin’s) for Mark Hayes.

No comments:

Post a Comment