Wednesday 11 November 2015

Leinster Schools Senior Hurling ‘B’ Championship

Round 2 v Abbey CC Ferrybank
Tuesday Nov 10 at Kilmacow

Abbey CC…………………………1-10      Wexford CBS……………………….1-8
After a gruelling battle in terrible conditions on a sodden pitch, the senior hurlers of Wexford CBS just came up short against Abbey Community College of Ferrybank last Tuesday in Kilmacow in round two of the Leinster Schools Senior Hurling ‘B’ championship.
The home side enjoyed the strong wind advantage in the opening half and retired with a sizeable 1-6 to 0-1 lead. CBS, fresh from their round one draw with Enniscorthy CBS, competed well in the first ten minutes and could have had two points from their first two attacks but instead had wides.
At the other end, the Abbey attack wasn’t as wasteful and registered four converted frees to lead by 0-4 to nil after 14 minutes. The home side pounced for their goal on 16 minutes and added two points from play before Conor Coleman eventually got Wexford CBS on the scoreboard with a pointed free on 27 minutes.
With a deficit of eight points to overturn, CBS needed a burst of scores in the third quarter to get back in the game. They rejigged their team by moving Cormac Byrne to centre-forward and Shane Hall to full-forward for the second half.
The switches had the desired effect as CBS tore into their opponents with vigour. Liam Rockett and Cormac Byrne rifles over points and two converted frees by Conor Coleman reduced the lead to 1-6 to 0-5 after 40 minutes.
Just as CBS were building up momentum Abbey were awarded some dubious frees which were pointed to increase their lead to 1-8 to 0-5 but the Wexford students kept going at them and were rewarded with two more Conor Coleman pointed frees before the St. Martin’s attacker sent a stinging shot just over the bar in the 52nd minute.
Again Abbey struck for a pair of points to put five points between the teams but then it was reduced back to two in the 55th minute when Jack O’Leary flicked Dylan Dixon’s shot past the Abbey keeper.
Try as they might for the remainder the CBS lads couldn’t get the scores to earn the victory and returned home empty handed. Next up is a must win home game versus Gorey CS in round 3.
Wexford CBS: Shane McGrath (Faythe Harriers); Danny Walsh (Faythe Harriers), Adam Dempsey (Faythe Harriers), Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s); Cormac Byrne (Faythe Harriers 0-1), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers Capt.), Shane Hall (Faythe Harriers); Darragh Rossiter (St. Martin’s), Cathal Kirwan (Faythe Harriers); Jack O’Leary (Volunteers 1-0), Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers 0-1), Dylan Dixon (Blackwater); Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s 0-6, 5f), Stephen Rossiter (Shelmaliers), Nicky Kelly (Faythe Harriers).
Sub: Chris Cowman (Shelmaliers) for S. Rossiter.

No comments:

Post a Comment