Wednesday 25 November 2015

Leinster Schools Senior Hurling ‘B’ Championship

Wexford CBS v FCJ Bunclody
Monday Nov 23 at Bunclody GAA Club

FCJ Bunclody………
2-12 Wexford CBS………0-10

The Bunclody students were the better team and won comfortably in the end after a tough battle throughout. They led at the break by 1-5 to 0-5 having played into the wind as CBS struggled to get into the game and were far too reliant on Conor Coleman for scores.
It was point for point for long stages of that half but the difference was a 20th minute goal.
Conor Coleman scored 0-4 (1 from play) and Liam Rockett chipped in with a point but CBS’s performance needed to be much better if they were going to secure the win that would guarantee a home quarter-final in the Leinster SHC ‘B’ championship.
It looked promising when they scored two quick fire points in a row early in the second half through Coleman but the key passage of play was when Bunclody rifled over 0-5 in a row to open up a six point gap.
CBS were chasing the game now but all they could muster was two converted Coleman frees and a point from Liam Rockett. The goal that was so badly needed never arrived and instead Bunclody found the net with the final play of the game.
It’s a disappointing end to fine year for this team – victory over Gorey CS and a draw with Enniscorthy CBS (the two teams that ultimately qualified from the group).

Wexford CBS: Shane McGrath (Faythe Harriers); Danny Walsh (Faythe Harriers), Adam Dempsey (Faythe Harriers), Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s); Cormac Byrne (Faythe Harriers), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers Capt.), Shane Hall (Faythe Harriers); Darragh Rossiter (St. Martin’s), Chris Cowman (Shelmaliers); Dylan Dixon (Blackwater), Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers 0-2), Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s 0-8, 5 frees), Nicky Kelly (Faythe Harriers), Jack O’Leary (Volunteers), Stephen Rossiter (Shelmaliers).
Sub: Adam Howlin (Shelmaliers) for S. Rossiter.

No comments:

Post a Comment