Tuesday 29 March 2011

South Leinster Juvenile Hurling 'C' Report Round 1

Wexford C.B.S. ............................................4-11
New Ross VEC .............................................4-4

A second half fade-out almost cost Wexford C.B.S. dearly in this opening round game of the South Leinster Juvenile C hurling championship in O’Kennedy Park last Thursday.
C.B.S led by 3-7 to 0-2 at the break but failed to score until the 18th minute of the second half as the New Ross lads tore into the game and brought the score back to 3-7 to 3-3.
There was not a puff of wind out amid perfect hurling conditions. New Ross VEC opened the scoring with a point but CBS got into the scoring groove as the half wore on. Rob Donnelly gave midfielder Luke Byrne a lovely pass and he equalised before a neat passing move between Joe Redmond, Luke Byrne and Mikey Coleman resulted in the latter firing over the bar.
David Tormey lashed home a goal after 14 minutes and Stephen Cullen made it 1-3 to 0-1 shortly afterwards. New Ross replied with their second pointed free before Tormey (three) and Nicky Lawlor had points.CBS finished the half very strongly and added two goals when Adam McDade pulled the ball to the net and Ciaran Kirwan’s long range effort went all the way to the net.
So it was 3-7 to 0-2 on the turnaround. New Ross grabbed their lifeline entering the final quarter the initiative was firmly with them. However, CBS had earlier moved Stephen Kearney from the goal and he added a point and then Joe Redmond pointed with a fine effort from a tight angle.
David Tormey’s second goal after a fine solo run finally killed off the New Ross challenge but nevertheless it was tight until the end. The victors mixed some super hurling with some silly hurling and will need to sharpen up a considerable amount for the rest of the group games against Bridgetown and Ramsgrange. Best for CBS were James Somers, Daniel Lynch, Nicky Lawlor, Luke Byrne and David Tormey.
Wexford C.B.S.: Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers, 0-1); Conor Fenlon (Glynn-Barntown), James Somers (Faythe Harriers), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers); Dylan Hynes (Clonard), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers, 1-0), Jack Murphy (Faythe Harriers); Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers, 0-1), Luke Byrne (Faythe Harriers, 0-2); Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers, 0-1), Mikey Coleman (St. Martin’s, 0-1), Robert Donnelly (Buffers Alley); David Tormey (Clonard, 2-4), Stephen Cullen (Clonard, 0-1), Adam McDade (Faythe Harriers, 1-0).
Subs: Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers) for McDade, Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s) for Cullen, McDade for Kearney, Kearney for M. Coleman, John Hamilton (St. Martin’s) for Donnelly.

No comments:

Post a Comment