Tuesday 29 March 2011

South Leinster Juvenile Hurling 'C' Report Semi-Final

Wexford C.B.S................8-10

THE Juvenile hurlers of Wexford C.B.S. qualified for the South Leinster Hurling ‘C’ final after this comprehensive victory over reigning champions Grennan College of Thomastown (Kilkenny) in last Tuesday’s semi-final played at Pairc Charman.
C.B.S led by 3-6 to 1-1 at half-time and never let up in the second half as they built on their lead and never let their opponents into the game.
However it didn’t look like that in the first minute when Thomastown scored a blistering goal. The Wexford lads took a while to settle but they had Mikey Coleman and David Tormey to thank for two goals in the fifth and seventh minute.
These were added to by two fine points by team captain Nicky Lawlor and then in the 13th minute Mikey Coleman scored a fine individual goal after some very hard work and the gap between the sides began to stretch.
Thomastown replied with a point but Tormey, Lawlor (two) and Dylan Hynes raised white flags before the half-time whistle.
CBS were keen to keep up their strong performance and not let the Kilkenny boys back into it. They were true to their word as the first three scores of the second half were C.B.S. goals.
Mikey Coleman registered his hat-trick, David Tormey placed Stephen Cullen who first timed the ball to the net and Dylan Hynes beat the keeper with a rocket-like shot.
This snuffed out any possible threat from Thomastown who it must be said never threw in the towel and had two pointed frees in the middle of the half. However C.B.S replied with converted frees from Stephen Kearney and further goals from Tormey and Lawlor wrapped up the game.
Everyone hurled very well on the Wexford C.B.S. side who have won all their four games to date this season. They face a very stiff test in the South Leinster final in Abbey College of Ferrybank in Waterford who steamrolled all their opponents en route to the final.
The C.B.S squad has worked very hard in training and are improving all the time. However an even higher level of performance will be required in the final in order to bring the cup back to the Boker.
Wexford CBS: Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley); Conor Fenlon (Glynn-Barntown), James Somers (Faythe Harriers), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers); John Hamilton (St. Martin’s), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), Jack Murphy (Faythe Harriers); Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers, 1-4, 1 ‘65, Captain), Luke Byrne (Faythe Harriers, 0-1); Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers (0-3, 1 free), Dylan Hynes (Clonard, 1-1), Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers); David Tormey (Clonard, 2-1), Stephen Cullen (Clonard, 1-0), Mikey Coleman (St. Martin’s, 3-0).
Subs: Mark Kavanagh (Clonard) for Redmond, Stephen Rossiter (Shelmaliers) for Tormey, Luke Lambert (unattached) for Cullen, Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s) for Mikey Coleman, Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s) for Lynch, Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers) for Kearney, Dillon Dixon (Blackwater) for Byrne.
Ref: James Flood (St. Mary’s Maudlintown)

Congratulations to Mr. Donal Howlin and his mighty young men.

No comments:

Post a Comment