Wednesday, 30 March 2011

Leinster Senior Rugby Development Shield Round 2

Wexford C.B.S……………………..24
Pres. – De La Salle, Bagnelstown……6

An excellent performance by scrum-half Dylan Joyce-Ahearne sealed a well deserved Leinster Schools Senior Development Shield quarter-final win in Carlow on Mar.8th
He scored a quality try in each half, his second three minutes in the second half putting the result beyond doubt, and capped a man of the match show with a third five pointer in the 47th minute for a 19-6 lead.
Pres-De La Salle promised much in the opening 35 minutes and went in front with two penalties, but never managed to crack a resolute C.B.S. defence IN WHICH Dylan Lawlor, Simon O’Carroll, and the scrum halfs brother Collie excelled. Midfielders Rodger Duggan and Sean Ryan were equal to any threat with the former driving and setting up suberb second phase ball.
Wexford took control when Mark Tackes blocked down an attempted clearance and Dylan Joyce-Ahearne was on hand to score his first try under the posts. Eoin Roche kicked the conversion.
C.B.S. added to their tally when Dylan collected at the base of the scrum, broke to the right and beat three backs to score. Eoin Roche again added the conversion. Joyce-Ahearne completed his hat-trick following some driving work by the pack.
Wexford ended on a high when after four phases involving Johnny Craciun, Mark Tackas, Sean Ryan and Graham Kehoe, young Collie Joyce-Ahearne got to carry over for the final score.

Wexford C.B.S; Gavin O’Connor, Michael McQuillan, Sean Ryan, Rodger Duggan, Lee Harpur, Eoin Roche, Dylan Joyce-Ahearne, Ciaran Kavanagh, Dylan Lawlor, Graham Kehoe, Simon O’Carroll, Marius Kraska, Collie Joyce-Ahearne, Johnny Craciun, Mark Tackas.
Subs; Peter Furlong, Vilalik Tsapchuk, Patryck Zaborsynski, Mark Walsh, Kevin Phillips, Dean McGrath, Philip O’Mahoney. 

No comments:

Post a Comment