Thursday 13 October 2011

First Year Football Blitz.

Wexford CBS can be proud of their efforts in the annual Keevans Cup tournament for first years held in Pairc Garman on Wednesday 12th October. While they eventually claimed 3rd place in their section, they were most unfortunate not to do even better and bring home some silverware..

Wexford CBS 1-2 Good Council New Ross 2-2
In the opening game Wexford CBS faced pre tournament favourites Good Council College. The New Ross side had the better start but The CBS boys came storming back with a great goal from Nicky Kelly to be level at half time. They took the lead early in the second half with a point from Lee Busher but a controversial goal given when CBS Goalie Kevin Corrigan was bundled into the net while saving the ball sealed the victory for the New Ross boys. Best for CBS were Jack Houghton, Alan Browne, Nicky Kelly and Aaron Smythe . Wexford CBS scorers were Nicky Kelly (1-0) and Lee Busher (0-2)

Wexford CBS 2-3 Enniscoerthy CBS 2-4
Wexford took out their frustration at the opening defeat with blistering opening to their second game. They totally dominated the Enniscorthy side who had won their opening game in the tournament. Two goals from Lee Busher and points from Jack Houghton and Kevin meant they had a decent lead at half time but some super saves from the Enniscorthy keeper kept them in the game. Wexford CBS would later regret some of these misses as the Enniscorthy lads came back into the game. Despite a solid defensive effort when the final whistle sounded there was a single point between the teams and Enniscorthy were on their way to the final. Best for CBS were Eoin Mahon, Everett Johnston and Paul Bailie. Wexford CBS scorers were Lee Busher (2-1) Jack McGarry (0-1) and Jack Houghton (0-1)

Wexford CBS 3-5 St Peters College 3-2
In the final game Wexford CBS faced their local rivals from St Peters College. In a highly entertaining and end to end game Wexford CBS went into an early lead and would hold this advantage to the end of the game. It was by far their best performance of the day with scores coming from all over the field. Goals from Izac Doyle, Sean Hopkins and Lee Busher set them up for a very good win and third place overall. Best for CBS were Danny Walsh, Kevin Corrigan, Sean Hopkins and Terry Whitty. Wexford CBS scorers were Sean Hopkins (1-1), Lee Busher (1-1), Izac Doyle (1-0), Lee Walsh (0-2) and Everett Johnston (0-1)

Wexford Panel 
Paddy O Reilly, Cody Murphy, Paul Bailie, Everett Johnston, Lee Busher Andrew Smith, Noel O Brien, Izac Doyle, Shane Flood, Aaron Smythe, Jack Houghton, Nicky Kelly, Lee Whelan, Shane Pierce, Michael Bent, Kevin Corrigan, Sean Beale, Jack Mcgarry, Sean Hopkins, Jason Brennan, Alan Browne, Danny Walsh, Eoin Mahon, Terry Whitty, Cormac Byrne

No comments:

Post a Comment