Tuesday 4 October 2011

South Leinster Junior C Hurling championship: Round 2, Pairc Charman Tuesday October 2011

Wexford CBS.......... 8-14

A COMPREHENSIVE first half display ensured that the junior (u16½) hurlers of Wexford CBS made it two wins out of two in the South Leinster Junior C Hurling championship after this comfortable win against Ramsgrange CS in Pairc Charman recently.
CBS led by 5-7 to 1-3 after that first half and the game was never really in doubt as a result. Four goals from the eagle-eyed John Forde laid the platform as CBS ran out handy winners.
However, it was Ramsgrange who raced into an early lead of 1-2 to nil after five minutes but once CBS’s midfield and half-back line began to dominate the scores began to arrive at the other end.
CBS were soon in front. Nine minutes had elapsed when Gary Murphy passed to Forde who neatly flicked to the net before Ian Moran blasted the ball passed the Ramsgrange keeper following a mazy run. Moran and Joe McBride combined to set up Evan Dunbar to score the third goal in the 14th minute.
Dunbar returned the favour minutes later when he fed McBride who lashed the ball home. There was time for one more goal before the half-time whistle when Ian Moran’s stinging shot hit the crossbar and John Forde pounced on the rebound for the fifth major.
Following their shaky start, the CBS defence quickly got on top of their direct opponents and with Gary Murphy and Jamie McDonnell in very industrious mood in centre-field the game had swung in the favour of the Wexford town students.
The best goal of the game arrived in the 35th minute when Joe McBride picked out John Forde with a 40 yard cross-field pass and Forde duly completed his hat-trick.
Ian Moran (two), substitute Stephen Kearney and Joe McBride tagged on points in the third quarter before Kearney fired home another CBS goal and John Forde rounded off the scoring in the 56th minute when his ground stroke from a tight angle made it to the net.
CBS hurled well all over the field and the substitutes also hurled with vigour when introduced to keep up the pressure on the starting fifteen for their places. However all the squad know that much stiffer tests lie ahead in their quest for Leinster honours. Their third and final group game is against Bridgetown VC.
Wexford CBS: Adam McDade (Faythe Harriers); Conor Fenlon (Glynn-Barntown), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), James Somers (Faythe Harriers); George Cullen (St. John’s), Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers), Liam Barry (Faythe Harriers); Gary Murphy (Faythe Harriers), Jamie McDonnell (Faythe Harriers, 0-2); Eoin Roche (Faythe Harriers), Sean Stafford (St. Martin’s, 0-3), Ian Moran (Glynn-Barntown, 1-3); John Forde (Shelmaliers, 4-2), Evan Dunbar (St. Martin’s, 1-0), Joe McBride (St. John’s, 1-3).
Subs: John Hamilton (St. Martin’s) for Fenlon, Luke Byrne (Faythe Harriers) for Stafford, Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers, 1-1) for Dunbar, Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers) for Somers, Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley) for Roche.
Referee: James Flood (St. Mary’s Maudlintown).

No comments:

Post a Comment