Wednesday 9 November 2011

Leinster Senior Rugby Development Cup Quarter Final

Colaiste Cill Mhaintain...14
Wexford C.B.S.................11

Today we travelled to Wicklow to face Colaiste Cill Mhaintain, Wicklow in the Q-Final of the Cup. After a hard fought encounter it literally went down to the last kick of the game and unfortunately it did not fall our way.
All bar three players are still eligible for next year so this was a young team, up against older and physically bigger players. However the heart and determination of the Bokerboys is well known. Wexford went 3-0 up from a Colm O'Corcora penalty. At this stage of the first half Wexford were playing the better rugby and were dominating the scrums. This possession led to a strong carry by Michael McGuire who passed to Ciaran Kavanagh, who in turn drew in the final defender and popped a pass to winger Peter Furlong to score in the corner. 8-0.
Slowly Wicklow came into the game and converted a penalty before half time to reduce the arrears to 5 points. Wexford again conceded early in the second half making it 8-6 and were now finding it difficult to get into the opposing half. Following a quick tap penalty Wicklow were on the scoreboard again , this time with a try to put them into the lead 11-8. Once again Wexford responded and following good work by Ian Moran on the wing Wexford received a penalty which Eoin Roche struck magnificently between the posts from 35 meters. 11-11.
With time running out however Wexford conceded a penalty and the final kick hit the upright and barely droped over the bar, enough to count and Wexford were out.
Best for Wexford on the day were Gavin Byrne, Collie Joyce-Ahearne and John Joe Browne who tackled all day. The front 5 were powerful at scrum time while the backs did well with the ball they got.

Team: James Byrne, Steve Roche, James Roche, Michael Maguire, Darragh Comiskey, Gavin Byrne, Collie Joyce-Ahearne, Ciaran Kavanagh (Capt.), John Joe Browne, Ian Moran, Eoin Roche, Dylan Lalor, Colm O'Corcora, Peter Furlong, Gavin O'Connor.
Subs: Dean Roche, Ruairi Devereux, Evan Dunbar, Ryan Walsh, Liam Barry, Matthew Devereux, Darius Smith.
Mighty Kav on the charge.
Scrum Time
Eoin nails the kick.

No comments:

Post a Comment