Tuesday 22 November 2011

U.14 Football

South Leinster 'C' Football Championship Rd.2
Wexford C.B.S....5-17   Dunlavin...4-1
Wexford C.B.S.
 Jessie Farrell , hidden from view, slides the ball past the keeper.
Liam Rockett beats the keeper to score stunning goal.

Wexford CBS under-14 footballers made it two wins out of two recently in their second game of the South Leinster Juvenile C championship against St. Kevin’s Dunlavin in the Volunteer’s GAA grounds at Pairc Charman.

The Boker Boys started the strongest and were two points up inside five minutes thanks to Adam Carroll and Dylan Dixon. From early on CBS started to dominate proceedings and centre-back Michael Lawlor was always a threat with his strong runs resulting in him kicking two points. 
The home side enhanced their lead when Jesse Farrell scored the first goal of the game but Dunlavin responded with two points to leave the score at 1-4 to 0-2 after fifteen minutes. However, CBS re-exerted their authority for the remainder of the half. Midfielder Dylan Dixon was prolific with four points while Jesse Farrell completed his hat trick with two well taken goals which left the half-time score at 3-8 to 0-2.

Dunlavin opened the second half with a well taken point but CBS were determined to stay on the front foot and Eoin Doyle broke from half back to kick a great point. 
Some exceptional point taking followed as Wexford CBS started to dictate the play. Shane McGrath notched up two fine scores, while the entire half forward line got in on the scoring with Liam Rockett adding to his goal, Stephen Kearney notching up two points while Conor Coleman chipped in with a great score. 
In the final quarter of the game, Dunlavin responded with four goals but it was far too little too late. CBS captain Darragh Rossiter had the final say when he drove up the field to bury the ball in the Dunlavin net to bring the game to a close.
Best for Wexford CBS were Alan Browne, Eoin Doyle, Michael Lawlor, Darragh Rossiter, Dylan Dixon, Stephen Kearney, Liam Rockett and Jesse Farrell.
Wexford CBS: Nigel Donoghue (Glynn/Barntown); Aaron McGuire (Volunteers), Daniel Lynch (Sarsfields), Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s); Eoin Doyle (unattached 0-1), Michael Lawlor (Volunteers 0-2), Aaron Goodison (Volunteers); Darragh Rossiter (St. Martin’s 1-0), Dylan Dixon (Backwater 0-6); Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers 1-1), Stephen Kearney (Sarsfields 0-2), Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s 0-1); Jesse Farrell (Volunteers 3-1), Shane McGrath (Sarsfields 0-2), Adam Carroll (Sarsfields 0-1). 
Subs: Alan Browne (Volunteers) for Lynch inj., Danny Walsh (Sarsfields) for Carroll inj., Chris Cowman (Shelmailers) for Farrell, Aaron Smyth (Volunteers) for Goodison, Lee Busher (Clonard) for McGrath, Kevin Corrigan (Blackwater) for McGuire, Nicky Kelly (Sarsfields) for Rockett, Jack Houghton (Sarsfields) for Coleman, Noel O’Brien (unattached), Kevin Harte (Shelmaliers).

No comments:

Post a Comment