Tuesday 8 November 2011

South Leinster Junior C Hurling championship: Final: Éire Óg, Carlow Tuesday, 8 November 2011

Naas CBS....................0-10
Wexford CBS...............0-3

WEXFORD CBS’s bid for hurling glory ended in failure last Tuesday as Naas CBS gave them a stiff lesson in the South Leinster Junior ‘C’ final at Éire Óg’s pitch in Carlow town.
This low-scoring final was far from a classic but both sides were full of endeavour and this contributed to a whole-hearted encounter. However the Naas students held the upper hand throughout the match and their incredibly tough and resilient defence very successfully repelled the attacks from the Wexford lads.
Wexford CBS will be very disappointed with their performance throughout as they played much better in their semi-final victory over Wicklow Schools. Sean Stafford opened the scoring with a converted ’65 in the first minute but it could so easily have been so much better. The ’65 resulted from an attack started by Evan Dunbar when he passed to the inrushing John Forde and his shot was somehow turned around the post by Conor Foley in the Naas goal.
Naas quickly levelled with a point from Brian Byrne and then Conor Woulfe put them into a lead which they never lost and soon it became 0-4 to 0-1.
Joe Coleman pointed a free for Wexford CBS in the 14th minute but that was to be their final score of the half as Naas’s defence smothered any attacks with zealous resistance.
Wexford CBS were reduced to 14 men in the 25th minute when centre-forward Eoin Roche was dismissed following a scuffle. It got worse for the Boker boys as Naas corner forward Brian Byrne was causing problems for the CBS defence with two points from play and one converted free to leave the half-time score at 0-7 to 0-2.
The Wexford lads faced a considerable mountain to climb but at least they had the wind in their favour for the second half. Following a reshuffle in attack, they got an ideal start when Joe Coleman fired over a point within sixty seconds.
However, it was a false dawn as it proved to be the Wexford school’s final score. It wasn’t from a lack of effort but every attempt to breach the Naas rearguard was repelled, with the extra man proving very difficult to get around.
Naas extended their lead as the half wore on with points from Byrne (two) and Odhran Loughran and should have got a goal but for a super save from Adam McDade in the Wexford goal. It became clear that the Wexford lads would need goals to salvage the game and in the effort to get goals, they passed up on opportunities for points.
Naas CBS ran out deserving winners and their captain Brian Byrne received the cup from Leinster Council Schools officer Pat Henderson.
Best for Wexford CBS on a disappointing day were Ciaran Kirwan, Sean Stafford, Luke Byrne and Jamie McDonnell.
Naas CBS:
Conor Foley; Conor Grogan, Ciaran Maher, Eoin Bateman; Darragh Kelleher, Rory McDermott, Sean Nolan; Alex Maher, Shane Gibbons; Colm Power, Ruairi O Domhnaill, Michael Russell (0-1); Odhran Loughran (0-1), Conor Woulfe (0-1), Brian Byrne (0-7, 4 frees).
Wexford CBS: Adam McDade (Faythe Harriers); Liam Barry (Faythe Harriers), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), James Somers (Faythe Harriers); Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers), Sean Stafford (St. Martin’s, 0-1 ’65 Capt.), Luke Byrne; Jamie McDonnell (Faythe Harriers), Gary Murphy (Faythe Harriers); Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers), Eoin Roche (Faythe Harriers), Joseph McBride (Volunteers); Joe Coleman (St. Martin’s 0-2, 1 free), Evan Dunbar (St. Martin’s), John Forde (Shelmaliers).
Subs: Ian Moran (Glynn-Barntown) for McBride, David Tormey (Clonard) for Forde, Dylan Hynes (Clonard) for Kearney, Jack Murphy (Faythe Harriers) for Coleman. Also: Brad Cohen (St. Martin’s), Mark Chapman (Faythe Harriers), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers), Conor Fenlon (Glynn-Barntown), Geroid Finn (St. Anne’s), John Hamilton (St. Martin’s), George Cullen (Volunteers), Ryan D’Arcy (Faythe Harriers), Stephen Cullen (Clonard), Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley), Aaron McMahon (Faythe Harriers), Sean Phelan (Faythe Harriers), Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers).
Ref: Pat Moran (Carlow)

No comments:

Post a Comment