Saturday 14 May 2011

First Year Hurling

Wexford CBS ....8-8
Bridgetown ......4-6

The first years played their second match in two days and picked up a well deserved victory over the Bridgetown juvenile team in Pairc Charman on Friday (May 13th) in a fourteen-a-side game.
This victory puts the school into the Flo-Gas final against Ramsgrange where CBS will hope to successfully defend their title. There was plenty of experimentation carried out as CBS fielded two vastly different teams in each half.
The first years were helped by some second years (Dylan Hynes, Stephen Cullen, Luke Lambert, John Leacy and Mark Kavanagh) in the second half, who it was felt by management, needed game-time.
Stephen Kearney registered the first score with a point before Bridgetown lashed in two goals through their burly full-forward. However CBS struck back with points from Jesse Farrell and Kearney.
Farrell struck for two goals around the first quarter – the first following a nice pass from Joe Redmond and the second was a fine solo effort. Kevin Harte followed up with a goal but Bridgetown struck back with some points to cut the deficit.
John Hamilton got two points before Aaron McGuire pounced on a ball that came back off the post from Joe Redmond and bashed it to the net.
This left the half-time score at CBS 4-5 to Bridgetown 2-4.
The rain came down in bucket loads in the new half as CBS’s new team got to grips with Bridgetown. Dylan Hynes scored 1-1 before neat goals from Conor Coleman and Liam Rockett increased the CBS lead.
Bridgetown’s full-forward plundered his third and fourth goals before Mark Kavanagh and Conor Coleman pointed. Stephen Cullen had the last say when he caught a high ball and lashed it to the net.

Wexford CBS (first half): Mikey Lawlor; Padraig Rossiter, Cian Allen, Eoin Doyle; Gary Cullen, Rob Donnelly, Dillon Dixon; Jesse Farrell (2-1); Dillon Murray, John Hamilton (0-2), Kevin Harte (1-0); Aaron McGuire (1-0), Stephen Kearney (0-2, 1 free), Joe Redmond.
Wexford CBS (second half): Kevin Harte, Kevin Birney, John Leacy, Daniel Lynch; Michael McNulty, Aaron Nobbs, Stephen Rossiter; Dylan Hynes (1-1); Liam Rockett (1-0), Rob Donnelly, Adam Carroll, Mark Kavanagh (0-1); Conor Coleman (1-0), Stephen Cullen (1-0), Mikey Lawlor.

No comments:

Post a Comment