Sunday 22 May 2011

Flo-Gas Division 2 Final Report (Friday May 20, 2011)

Wexford CBS............. 7-7
Ramsgrange CS..........3-10

A mush improved second half display ensured that Wexford CBS won back to back Flo-Gas Division 2 titles last Friday when they overcame Ramsgrange C.S. after a mighty struggle.
Played in Ramsgrange school and 13-a-side at the home side’s request, the lead changed sides many times before the outcome eventually swung the way of Wexford CBS due to five second half goals.
Ramsgrange led at the break by 2-7 to 2-3 and were fully deserving of their lead as they hurled very cleverly in the opening period and took most of their chances.
However it was Wexford CBS who grabbed the opening score when Stephen Kearney nipped in and lashed the ball to the net inside the first minute. The same player added a pointed free soon after.
Ramsgrange then fought their way back into the match as Brian Power pointed twice, one a free. In the 12th
 minute James Rochford grabbed a fine goal for the home side as they took the lead.
Back came CBS as their midfielders Nicky Lawlor and Luke Byrne combined for the latter to point. At the other end, Brian Power converted three frees which gave Ramsgrange a lead of 1-5 to 1-2 after 15 minutes.
Stephen Kearney registered his second goal for CBS with a kicked effort which drew the sides level but Ramsgrange’s Jack Doherty struck a ground shot neatly into the bottom corner of the net before the break.
Ramsgrange’s four point lead at half-time turned into a two point deficit within sixty seconds of the new half as Jesse Farrell with a ground stroke and David Tormey put Wexford CBS ahead by 4-3 to 2-7.
Ramsgrange levelled with points from Adam Foley and James Rochford as both sides struggled for supremacy. CBS went ahead again as Jesse Farrell added another point and Stephen Kearney split the posts with a free.
Kearney then turned provider as two mazy solo runs into the heart of the Ramsgrange defence resulted in goals for David Tormey and Jesse Farrell.
James Rochford replied with a goal for the Ramsgrange lads to keep them in touch as the game entered the closing stages. The CBS defence repelled a 21 yard free and withstood further pressure from the Ramsgrange attack but with dangerman James Rochford well shackled by Joe Redmond; they began to lose their grip on the game.
The insurance score for Wexford CBS arrived late on when David Tormey and Jesse Farrell played a neat one-two before Tormey drilled the ball home.
County Coach Luke O’Hanlon presented the trophy to CBS captain Nicky Lawlor afterwards and he praised both sides for their performances.
Best players for CBS were Conor Fenlon, John Hamilton, man-of-the-match Joe Redmond and Stephen Kearney while Willie Dwyer, Brian Power and James Rochford shone for Ramsgrange.
Wexford C.B.S.: Rob Donnelly (Buffers Alley); James Somers (Faythe Harriers), Conor Fenlon (Glynn-Barntown); John Hamilton (St. Martin’s), Ciaran Kirwan (Faythe Harriers), Joe Redmond (Shelmaliers); Nicky Lawlor (Faythe Harriers 0-1, Captain), Luke Byrne (Faythe Harriers 0-1); Mikey Coleman (St. Martin’s), Dylan Hynes (Clonard 0-1), Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers 2-2, 0-2 frees); David Tormey (Clonard 3-1), Jack Murphy (Faythe Harriers).
Subs: Jesse Farrell (St. John’s 2-1) for Murphy inj., Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s) for M. Coleman. Also Kevin Birney (Glynn-Barntown), Gary Cullen (St. John’s), Stephen Cullen (Clonard), Dillon Dixon (Blackwater), Luke Lambert (unattached), John Leacy (Glynn-Barntown), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers), Aaron McGuire (St. John’s), Michael McNulty (Buffers Alley), Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers), Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s), Stephen Rossiter (Shelmaliers).
Ramsgrange C.S.: Thomas Walsh; Jamie Doran, Willie Dwyer; Daniel Johnson, Stephen Morrissey (0-1), Adam Prendergast, Adam Foley (0-1), Simon Murphy, Leigh Foley, Alex Poitegar, Brian Power (0-7, 6 frees), James Rochford (2-1), Jack Doherty.
Subs: Darren O’Grady, Alan Kehoe, Aaron Doyle, Josh O’Brien.
Ref: Johnny Doyle (St. James).

No comments:

Post a Comment