Wednesday 21 March 2012

Hurling - Juvenile 'B'

South Leinster Juvenile B Hurling championship – Round 3
Tuesday March 20th

Enniscorthy CBS...............................6-9
Wexford CBS....................................5-11

A brave second half comeback by the Boker boys just fell short in the third round of the South Leinster Juvenile B Hurling championship at St. Patrick’s Park, Enniscorthy recently.
Wexford CBS trailed by 4-6 to 0-6 at half-time after playing into the strong wind. Stephen ‘Turk’ Kearney scored five of our points (three from frees) and Stephen Rossiter scored the other.
However, Enniscorthy CBS scored four goals in a row midway through the first half and they were all rockets which Jack Haughton had no chance to save.
With the wind in their backs, the Boker boys stormed back into the game in the second half. The Turk’s free from 40 yards went all the way to the Enniscorthy net and then CBS had a point from Shane McGrath and a really wonderful point from Dylan Dixon when he soloed the full length of the field with three men in pursuit before tipping the ball over the bar.
The Enniscorthy CBS keeper made another super save but the pressure was beginning to tell and CBS were awarded a penalty which Turk Kearney drove to the net. Aaron McGuire and Conor Coleman were up next with goals to leave the score at 5-8 to 4-9 but the Enniscorthy lads took off again with their sixth goal.
However Conor Coleman pointed a free and Jesse Farrell nipped over a neat point before Dylan Dixon passed to Stephen Rossiter who found the net to leave just one point between the sides.
The final whistle was blown on an epic encounter on the puck-out and Enniscorthy CBS had sealed the win which ensured their qualification from the group as winners. Unfortunately for CBS, Gorey Community School pip them for the other qualification spot.
Daniel Lynch, Darragh Rossiter, Liam Hore, Liam Rockett and Stephen Kearney were outstanding for Wexford CBS and the Flo-Gas league starts after Easter.
Wexford CBS: Jack Haughton (Faythe Harriers); Cormac Byrne (Faythe Harriers), Daniel Lynch (Faythe Harriers), Kevin Harte (Shelmaliers); Padraig Rossiter (St. Martin’s), Darragh Rossiter (St. Martin’s), Liam Hore (Faythe Harriers); Liam Rockett (Shelmaliers), Dylan Dixon (Blackwater 0-1); Aaron McGuire (Volunteers 1-0), Stephen Kearney (Faythe Harriers 2-6, 1-4 frees, 1-0 pen), Stephen Rossiter (Shelmaliers 1-1); Adam Carroll (Faythe Harriers), Shane McGrath (Faythe Harriers 0-1), Conor Coleman (St. Martin’s 1-1 free).
Sub: Jesse Farrell (Volunteers 0-1) for Carroll.

No comments:

Post a Comment