Wednesday 14 March 2012

Junior Rugby Super Semi-Final Victory

Leinster Junior Development Shield
Wexford C.B.S....55  Hartstown C.S....24
Wexford C.B.S. have reached the Final of this competition for the second year running and now are only 60 mins away from retaining their Leinster title. Wexford started very well with the backline moving the ball at every opportunity. A few chances presented themselves but escaped, then on 11 mins Dale Murphy-Butler broke through to open the scoring. 9 mins later Shaun Donaghue had extended the lead to 10-0. From the restart Joe Coleman took off and ran 60m to score a great try by the posts which he converted. Hatrstown responded in the corner to make it 17-5. Lar Stoutt scored and Joe Coleman converted before they got the final score of the half to make it 24-10 at the break.
The Bokerboys began the second half with great tempo and got further tries from Dale Murphy-Butler and Shaun Donaghue to open up a comfortable lead. This tally was added to by Joe Coleman and Shaun Donaghue who finished off his hatrick with another.Both  these were converted by Joe Coleman Alex Perez got the final try to add the gloss to a great team performance. Hartstown got two late scores to finish the scoring.
This was fantastic win and achieved with style, the backline moved very well scoring 6 tries while Joe Coleman had a personal score of 20 points. The front row Jason Guerrine, Alex Perez and Steve Cullen were powerful and were driven forward by the engine room of Donal Moore and Joe Redmond. The back row of Conor Fenlon, Joe Coleman and Lee Dryburg tackled and carried the ball flawlessly all day.
The half backs of Stephen Healy and David Tormey moved the backline effectively producing 6 tries. The centre pairing of Shaun Donaghue and Lar Stoutt is developing nicely and today they were rewarded with tries. Both wingers had their best games today Dale Murphy-Butler finished off moves while Gearoid Finn created well. Eoin McDonald is a rock at full back and his ' thou shalt not pass me' motto is unblemished.
It was great to welcome back Mikey Coleman after a long lay off through injury. Chris Vickery, Johnny Hamilton, Adam Culleton and Eoin Hickey also contributed handsomely when introduced.
Team: Eoin McDonald, Gearoid Finn, Shaun Donaghue, Lar Stoutt, Dale Murphy-Butler, David Tormey, Stephen Healy, Steve Cullen, Alex Perez, Jason Guerrine, Joe Redmond, Donal Moore, Lee Dryburg, Conor Fenlon (Capt.), Joe Coleman
Sub: Mikey Coleman, Chris Vickery, Johnny Hamilton, Adam Culleton,  Eoin Hickey, Kevin Beirney, John Lacey, Graham Kelly and Brian Zacherl.

No comments:

Post a Comment