Wednesday 7 March 2012

U.16 Soccer Win

Wexford C.B.S....4  Colaiste Atha, Kilmuckridge...1

Wexford CBS began their Under 16 season in the Wicklow Wexford league with a comprehensive victory over Kilmuckridge in the school pitch on Wednesday 29th of February.
Wexford began brightly and took the lead inside the first minute when Mark Doyle turned an excellent long ball in from Alex Bergin into the Kilmuckridge net. Wexford took the early initiative and dominated possession of the ball as a defensive Kilmuckridge attempted to close down CBS at every opportunity. CBS began to dominate possession and attempted to increase their lead, the side were pushing forward and left themselves open at the back and Kilmuckridge almost capitalised but found debutant keeper Joe Coleman in defiant form as he made a couple of smart saves. The increased CBS pressure lead to a Sean Donohue cross being turned into the net by a Kilmuckridge defender just before half time to put Wexford 2-0 up.
The second half saw many changes to the Wexford line-up and a much improved performance as the boker boys completely dominated their opponents and were firing in shots on the Kilmuckridge goal. Ian Moran increased the Wexford lead early in the second half as he scrambled the ball into the net after Kilmuckridge struggled to clear their lines. Team captain Robin Dempsey increased the lead to 4-0 with a spectacular strike on the volley into the top corner of the goal, much to the delight of the onlooking crowd, to cap a memorable performance. Kilmuckridge managed to salvage a consolation goal in the dying moments as Joe Coleman parried into the net. It was a comprehensive performance from Wexford and a great start to the campaign, best on the day for CBS were Robin Dempsey, Lar Stoutt, Mark Doyle and Sean Donohue.
Wexford: Joe Coleman, Alex Bergin, Lar Stoutt, Eoghan Whitty, Emmet Sinnott, Robin Dempsey, Sean Donohue, Darragh Rossiter, Richie Kearney, Cian Doyle, Mark Doyle, Subs: Ian Moran, Eoin Doyle, Stephen Healy, Andrew McGuickan, Aidan Murphy, Luke Byrne, George Cullen, Eoin MacDonald, 

No comments:

Post a Comment