Sunday 11 March 2012

U.15 Semi Final Wicklow/Wexford School League

Wexford CBS 2-4 Kilcoole

Early possession favoured Kilcoole. They attacked up the right wing; an excellently flighted back post cross found their forward. He nodded the ball past Shane McGrath for an early lead. Play became scrappy; Eoin McDonald and Alex Bergin started to get involved in the middle for Wexford. Kilcoole again broke down the wing. Some bad Wexford defending gifted Kilcoole another headed goal despite the best efforts of goalkeeper McGrath. Kilcoole 2-0 Wexford, only 10 minutes gone.
Wexford looking determined now, attacked with intent. Dylan Dixon won the ball at midfield and passed to Darragh Rossiter, his shot was gathered well by Kilcoole’s goalkeeper. Wexford began to take the game to Kilcoole. Attack after attack was repelled, corner after corner as Kilcoole’s goal led a charmed life. Wexford were showing their class and quality with some very impressive passing and movement, Kilcoole had no answer.
Luke Redmond-Browne had a good chance but his shot was saved well. Emmet Sinnott, Eoin Doyle and Aaron Goodison were rarely troubled as Wexford were totally dominant. Another great pass from Alex Bergin sent Darragh Rossiter on the attack. Darragh passed to Dylan Dixon, Dylan fired the ball to the net 1-2, and the comeback was on! Darragh Rossiter is in again but the goalkeeper smothers the chance. Eoin McDonald created another chance, his shot went just wide. Alex Bergin had a back post header saved. Dylan Dixon shoots; once again good Kilcoole goal keeping frustrates Wexford.
Brendan Furlong played the ball down the wing; Darragh’s shot was blocked sending the ball for a corner kick to Wexford. Eoin Doyle sung the ball across; Alex Bergin powered a header to Kilcoole’s net. 2-2 come on Wexford! Darragh Rossiter has yet another chance, unfortunately he over ran the ball and the keeper gathers it.
Kilcoole 2-2 Wexford CBS.
Second Half
Wexford pushed forward. Eoin McDonald’s dominating performance in the middle set up numerous attacks. Wexford played some neat football but couldn’t put the ball to the net. Dylan Dixon had a good chance; another Kilcoole block leads to a corner kick for Wexford. Darragh Rossiter shoots just wide, Eoin McDonald breaks forward from an Emmet Sinnott pass but his shot is well saved.
Kilcoole’s attacks were rare. Wexford dominated but needed to score. Kilcoole broke down the left side, their forward turned in-field. A coming together of the attacker, Emmet Sinnott and Alex Lohier led to a dubious penalty awarded to Kilcoole. Kilcoole dispatched the spot kick to the net. Kilcoole 3-2 Wexford.
Wexford Sub:
Emmett Ryan for Luke Redmond Browne.
Wexford piled forward. A rare Kilcoole corner produced a scramble and the ball ended up in Wexfords net, 4-2 to Kilcoole.
Wexford Sub:
Gary Cullen for Brendan Furlong.
It’s all out attack for Wexford. Yet another chance but Dylan Dixon’s shot is off target.
Wexford Sub:
Joe Redmond for Alex Lohier.
With only three at the back Wexford push forward at every opportunity. Gary Cullen breaks up the right his cut-back almost reaches Eoin Doyle but for a lucky Kilcoole interception. A solid Aaron Goodison sets Wexford on the attack. Darragh Rossiter almost gets an opportunity but for more good defending.
Wexford’s efforts go unrewarded as the referee blows the full-time whistle.

Lady luck was not on Wexfords side. On another day Wexford should have been celebrating a dominate performance with an emphatic win, but not today. Two early goals made it difficult but credit to the boys they battled back well and all that was missing was a second half goal. Wexford should be very proud of their performance, maybe next season lady luck will be on their side.

Mr. Breen and Mr. Ryan would like to thank the boys for their spirit and effort throughout the campaign.
Squad: Shane McGrath, Alex Lohier, Emmet Sinnott, Eoin Doyle, Aaron Goodison, Brendan Furlong, Alex Bergin, Eoin McDonald, Dylan Dixon, Luke Redmond-Browne, Darragh Rossiter, Emmett Ryan, Gary Cullen, Joe Redmond, Robert Donnelly, Daniel Lynch, Dylan Bolger, Damian Klukcz, Mikey Lawlor, Dylan Ennis, Jesse Farrell, Tony Crosbie.
Played  Won      Drew     Lost        For         Against
     4             2             1              1           15             6

No comments:

Post a Comment